Thanks Thanks:  1
Likes Likes:  0

Thread: Remote programming

Remote programming

I'm putting together a bid for a system 10hrs away from me. To be specific Lake Tahoe if anyone has experience there.
    Part of the bid will be changes made remotely. As I have no experience in remote programming was looking for advice.
    Best network setup, success/issues with ra2 old and new?
    It will be a spec house so full network access will be requires in the bid.
    Have seen the post about 9.2 issues fixed with 9.3.
    Hopefully 10 and 10.whatever don't have these issues. Job will not be until the end of the year.
    One of my concerns is the system crashing during update. Either during FW update or programming.

Thanks

Authorized Lutron Contributor
    Thank you for your questions. The main things to keep in mind is that currently the only supported method of remote access is via VPN. This method is only recommended for transfers to the system, in other words not for activation and definitely not for firmware updates. I find that the biggest issue with attempting anything other than a transfer is that if it fails there is no way to remote troubleshoot the problem. Without being there or having someone on site with software access this becomes a very difficult task.

Thanks Scooter.
    Would never try a activation or firm update remotely. I cross my fingers when wired locally with firm update.
    I'm worried about doing a simple programming update and loosing the system.
    My bid will included pricing for making a trip/trips for major updates.
    What VPN does anyone recommend?
    Have you had experience with transfer fails remotely?