Results 1 to 4 of 4

Thread: Determining Battery Level Programmatically

  1. #1

    Question Determining Battery Level Programmatically

    from my understanding, with the release of the upcoming Connect Bridge and the new Lutron app, a user will be able to view the power/battery level that remains for a shade (or at least when the battery level is getting low). I'm guessing this value is obtained via polling or probably the shade is sending out an "alert". Is there any way at all to get that value (either through a poll or monitoring for an alert) so that it can be displayed on a UI? Is this an "undocumented" addition of the protocol? I typically program a shade interface on a third-party graphical touch panel and it would be real handy if I can provide an indication to my customers on their touch panels that the batteries for a particular shade is needing some attention.

    thanks

  2. #2
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Apr 2016
    Posts
    14
    I would second that request! Having battery-operated shades in difficult to reach areas makes knowing the remaining battery levels especially valuable.

    Quote Originally Posted by jkvossen View Post
    from my understanding, with the release of the upcoming Connect Bridge and the new Lutron app, a user will be able to view the power/battery level that remains for a shade (or at least when the battery level is getting low). I'm guessing this value is obtained via polling or probably the shade is sending out an "alert". Is there any way at all to get that value (either through a poll or monitoring for an alert) so that it can be displayed on a UI? Is this an "undocumented" addition of the protocol? I typically program a shade interface on a third-party graphical touch panel and it would be real handy if I can provide an indication to my customers on their touch panels that the batteries for a particular shade is needing some attention.

    thanks

  3. Likes jkvossen liked this post
  4. #3
    Authorized Lutron Contributor
    Join Date
    May 2013
    Posts
    208
    Currently the Connect app will only notify you when a device has a low battery. It will not show the current battery level. I have sent your feedback to out App Development team so they can look in to adding this as a future feature.

  5. Thanks tabraham thanked for this post
  6. #4
    Mike...the connect app must get that information from somewhere; I'm guessing the shade is sending out an alert (of some sort) that the connect app is able to receive and process; which begs the general question on what happens to that "alert" if it is sent and the app isn't running, does the shade continue to send until the batteries are changed? It would be great if a QS processor (and for that matter, a RA2 main repeater) can also receive and process that "alert" such that the integration protocol can report that as a monitor(ed) event...bonus points will be awarded if the Crestron shade modules are modified to have a digital output that is asserted when this condition is noted :)

    thanks

Similar Threads

  1. Can not load project after battery back up replacement
    By savimagc in forum Troubleshooting - Legacy HW
    Replies: 7
    Last Post: 08-25-2015, 03:25 AM
  2. Android Caseta App battery usage?
    By Cincycaddy in forum General Discussion - CAS
    Replies: 0
    Last Post: 06-08-2015, 03:05 PM
  3. Poor Battery Performance?
    By rdgerken in forum Troubleshooting - Shades
    Replies: 5
    Last Post: 02-14-2014, 08:37 AM
  4. Convert Sivoia QS Wireless from Battery to CSPS-P1-10-6 Power Panel
    By jfbordenjr in forum General Discussion - Shades
    Replies: 4
    Last Post: 11-07-2013, 05:36 PM
  5. dimmer not going back to last level
    By Craig W. in forum Troubleshooting - RA2
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: 05-16-2013, 03:30 PM

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •