Results 1 to 6 of 6

Thread: Caseta wireless doesn't connect

  1. #1
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Mar 2016
    Posts
    3

    Angry Caseta wireless doesn't connect

    I have caseta wireless and tried to update the firmware, but I have an connection error.
    When I unplug the cable to go to advanced IP options I have the push the black button error on step 5.
    I have all the ports open, and still having the same two errors, I'm really disappointed with caseta wireless.
    Any idea how to make it work?

  2. #2
    Authorized Lutron Contributor
    Join Date
    May 2013
    Posts
    313
    What kind of modem/router do you have in your house?

  3. #3
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Mar 2016
    Posts
    3
    I have an Arris DG950

  4. #4
    Authorized Lutron Contributor
    Join Date
    May 2013
    Posts
    313
    It could be that communication between the app and our server is being blocked by the network/router, or the ISP.

    Here are the ports that the Caseta systems uses to talk between the app, our servers, and the bridge:
    Outbound to Internet: 80 (TCP), 123 (UDP), 443 (TCP), 8883 (TCP), 7443 (TCP)
    Inbound from Internet: None; no port forwarding required.
    Local Network (inbound from app): 22 (TCP), 23 (TCP), 4443 (TCP), 4548 (TCP), 5353 (UDP multicast), 8443 (TCP)

    Note: These may change with future updates.

    To ensure proper network security and functionality we recommend contacting a network professional if requiring assistance in changing your router’s settings.

  5. #5
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Mar 2016
    Posts
    3
    As I write in the first message, I have all those ports open and still have errors.
    Any way, if I haven't the ports open, why do I have the step 5 error?

  6. #6
    Authorized Lutron Contributor
    Join Date
    May 2013
    Posts
    313
    Step 5 is where the bridge tries to communicate with our server to link your email address to the bridge MAC address. If Step 5 is failing, then something in the network is blocking the bridge from communicating with the server. You may want to check with your ISP as well.

    Please make sure the following URLs are allowed through any firewalls that may be on the router:
    device-login.lutron.com
    updates.lutron.com
    v3mqtt.xively.com
    lutron.broker.xively.com
    firmwareupdates.lutron.com

Similar Threads

  1. Caseta Wireless Fan Control
    By Ashwin in forum General Discussion - CAS
    Replies: 40
    Last Post: 11-02-2016, 06:49 PM
  2. Caséta Wireless Switch on 220 voltage
    By m11rphy in forum General Discussion - CAS
    Replies: 2
    Last Post: 11-12-2015, 05:17 AM
  3. Caseta Wireless FAQ
    By Kevin P. in forum General Discussion - CAS
    Replies: 0
    Last Post: 11-05-2015, 08:18 AM
  4. About Caséta Wireless and Maetro Wireless using outside USA
    By vinhthq in forum General Discussion - Controls
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: 03-09-2015, 03:00 PM
  5. Clear Connect / Staples Connect Devices
    By az1324 in forum General Discussion - Controls
    Replies: 12
    Last Post: 10-29-2013, 12:45 PM

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •