Thanks Thanks:  1
Likes Likes:  1
Dislikes Dislikes:  0
Page 2 of 2 FirstFirst 12
Results 11 to 16 of 16

Thread: Occupancy switch triggers itself every hour

  1. #11
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Mar 2016
    Posts
    7
    Well well--mystery solved! I called the tech support. The guy was nice and helpful (didn't insisting it's a cat walking). He mentioned that wireless routers may interfere with the switches.

    It reminded me that my router is placed just 4 feet apart from the sensor--although separated by a wall. It's the same router (Asus N66U) and has always been placed at the same place. But around the same time the switch became haunted, I updated the router's firmware to the Merlin custom FW.

    Can a custom FW alone cause the interference? It's a huge stretch but last night I turned off the router (can't do it during the day otherwise the family will suffocate) and set up a time-lapse camera. Guess what? The switch never came on once the whole night. So it IS the router! How crazy is that? Maybe the custom FW secretly boosts the signal strength (I always set it at 100% before)? But I would have never guessed. I will have to move it a foot away then.

  2. Likes Jai H. liked this post
  3. #12
    Authorized Lutron Contributor
    Join Date
    Dec 2015
    Posts
    185
    Hello icefox, Thanks for the update. I am glad you were able to find the "ghost."

  4. #13
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Jun 2016
    Posts
    2
    Hi..i have few queries...i want to know that are you using some sort of fan system in the house that periodically turns the air over? Any change in the HVAC requirements over the last few days? While excellent, the sensor may be fooled by large air masses of a different temperature suddenly moving within the space. The sensors are passive infrared; and this can be a problem for any sensor, although Lutron sensors are the best at the false triggers. Try setting the sensor to one less sensitive setting, and see if the problem persists.

  5. #14
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Mar 2016
    Posts
    7
    No.. I have on demand ac but when this occurred ac wasn't running at all. They don't trigger every hour either anyway.

  6. #15
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Sep 2020
    Posts
    1
    I am having this issue right now. It appeared only after I replaced the adjacent switches with smart ones. What would trigger the sensor? a wifi ping?

  7. #16
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Nov 2020
    Posts
    1
    I too am seeing what Boibeast mentions. When I had the occupancy sensor installed in a two position location shared with a simple switch, I had no issues at all and the sensor behave as expected. Last week I replaced the simple switch with a Smart WiFi switch and bingo, the lights controlled by the occupancy sensor come on at random times. I adjusted the sensor mode to Manual-on and that seems to prevent the false triggering, but that defeats the purpose I purchased the occupancy sensor.Any ideas?

Page 2 of 2 FirstFirst 12

Similar Threads

  1. Caseta ON/OFF Switch and normal toggle switch
    By hgmobile in forum Troubleshooting - CAS
    Replies: 3
    Last Post: 05-29-2016, 10:12 AM
  2. currently 1 hour and 28 minutes on hold
    By sdaven in forum General Discussion - HWQS
    Replies: 0
    Last Post: 03-17-2016, 08:42 PM
  3. ms-a102 occupancy switch mysterious green/yellow wire
    By shortcircuit in forum General Discussion - Controls
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: 12-22-2015, 06:48 PM
  4. Passive infrared Occupancy/Vacancy sensor switch
    By tbone in forum General Discussion - Controls
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: 01-08-2015, 09:39 AM
  5. 1 new shade = 1 hour activating and a 45 minute upload
    By 39CentStamp in forum Programming - HWQS
    Replies: 6
    Last Post: 04-24-2014, 11:03 PM

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •