Results 1 to 7 of 7

Thread: Occupancy sensor not compatible with smart bridge

  1. #1
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Mar 2016
    Posts
    3

    Occupancy sensor not compatible with smart bridge

    I have a caseta wireless switch controlling the basement. I would like to have an occupancy sensor to light up the basement when someone walks in. These sensors will work:LRF2-OCR2B-P-WHLRF2-OWLB-P-WHHowever,tech support said:`keep in mind that when you use the sensors with the Caseta Wireless products, they can’t be integrated to the Smart Bridge and app. This will only work as standalone. As of right now, the Smart Bridge and App. doesn’t support the sensors or the dimmers/switches linked to sensors.`So to wireless control the switch which is paired with a sensor, will I need ANOTHER device?Something like this:https://www.simplecontrol.com/simple-hub/

  2. #2
    Authorized Lutron Contributor
    Join Date
    May 2013
    Posts
    359
    I'm not sure if that will work the way you want it to work. Currently, the only devices that will link with the Caseta system are the ones on this page with the standard bridge: http://www.casetawireless.com/Pages/Alliances.aspx , and the ones on this page with the pro bridge: http://www.casetawireless.com/Pages/ProProducts.aspx .

  3. #3
    Authorized Lutron Contributor
    Join Date
    Aug 2013
    Posts
    109
    skypickle - I'm curious why you require app control of your basement switch since you have it paired with an occupancy sensor which will automatically turn the lights on and off.

  4. #4
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Mar 2016
    Posts
    3
    My understanding was that a wireless switch can only be paired with one sensor. Since I need three sensors to cover the basement and entries to it, I was considering going to this sensor(3 copies of it)
    http://www.amazon.com/gp/product/B00...ilpage_o00_s00
    and pairing it with a wink hub.

  5. #5
    Authorized Lutron Contributor
    Join Date
    Aug 2013
    Posts
    109
    Quote Originally Posted by skypickle View Post
    My understanding was that a wireless switch can only be paired with one sensor.
    Not true. You can actually pair up to 10 Lutron wireless occupancy sensors to one switch.

  6. #6
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Dec 2014
    Posts
    252
    Quote Originally Posted by Eric H. View Post
    I'm curious why you require app control of your basement switch since you have it paired with an occupancy sensor which will automatically turn the lights on and off.
    A few obvious scenarios I have stumbled upon so far are:

    1. In addition to occupancy sensor control, add switches/dimmers to the scheduled scenes or Siri controlled scenes;
    2. Monitoring state of switches/dimmers using the app (when homeowner is in another part of the house or away);
    3. Turning the lights off (in the whole house) for OCD types;
    4. Turning the lights on to full 100% (to find a lost piece of jewelry / to clean the room or house);

  7. #7
    Authorized Lutron Contributor
    Join Date
    Aug 2013
    Posts
    109
    Thanks for the feedback, veeeh.

Similar Threads

  1. Questions about smart bridge/smart bridge Pro
    By TheVince in forum General Discussion - CAS
    Replies: 13
    Last Post: 09-30-2016, 01:33 AM
  2. Replies: 10
    Last Post: 04-04-2016, 05:15 PM
  3. Differences between Smart Bridge and Smart Bridge Pro
    By me262 in forum General Discussion - CAS
    Replies: 4
    Last Post: 02-22-2016, 02:49 PM
  4. Occupancy Sensor
    By texas doc in forum General Discussion - RA2
    Replies: 4
    Last Post: 05-18-2015, 09:16 PM
  5. lutron smart bridge vs smart brigde pro
    By bastor in forum General Discussion - CAS
    Replies: 3
    Last Post: 08-06-2014, 05:28 PM

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •