Results 1 to 4 of 4

Thread: Does it require a special device to program or is it button press programming?

  1. #1
    Authorized Lutron Contributor
    Join Date
    Jan 2016
    Posts
    20

    Does it require a special device to program or is it button press programming?

    The Vive Hub can be programmed from any Smartphone, Tablet or Computer with built in Wi-Fi (2.4 GHz 802.11b/g.). The Vive Hub has a built in Wi-Fi hotspot to connect to and can be programmed through most browsers on the connected device. The log-in can be password protected to prevent people from making changes.

  2. #2
    Will Vive require a constant internet connection like Caseta or can you just turn on your portable hotspot to program the system up and then remove it once you finish and leave the area.

    Will timeclocks, etc run without the constant internet connection?

    Trying to decide if RadioRA 2 is the better solution since it does not require the constant internet connection.... or if Vive will fill the niche where I need timeclocks for but the locations may not have a constant internet connection available.

    Thank you,
    Teresa

  3. #3
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Jun 2013
    Posts
    608
    The Vive will have a wireless router built in, but will not act as an ethernet switch. As far as your timeclock question, I would assume you could manually enter the time or it will pick it up from whatever device you choose to program with- phone or tablet or your choice. The Lutgron-ites can clarify for us.
    Residential Lighting and Shading Specialist for CED Escondido

    mbalay@cedescondido.com

  4. Thanks RA2-Designer-Gal, Joe M. thanked for this post
    Likes RA2-Designer-Gal liked this post
  5. #4
    Authorized Lutron Contributor
    Join Date
    Jan 2016
    Posts
    20
    Quote Originally Posted by RA2-Designer-Gal View Post
    Will Vive require a constant internet connection like Caseta or can you just turn on your portable hotspot to program the system up and then remove it once you finish and leave the area.

    Will timeclocks, etc run without the constant internet connection?

    Trying to decide if RadioRA 2 is the better solution since it does not require the constant internet connection.... or if Vive will fill the niche where I need timeclocks for but the locations may not have a constant internet connection available.

    Thank you,
    Teresa
    SanDiegoRep is correct. The Vive hub does not require an Internet connection. You can set the Time/Date once you log-in with your programming device (phone, tablet or PC).

  6. Thanks RA2-Designer-Gal thanked for this post
    Likes RA2-Designer-Gal liked this post

Similar Threads

  1. VCRX Input to Press a Button
    By Jeepdon in forum Programming - RA2
    Replies: 8
    Last Post: 09-16-2016, 06:24 PM
  2. Handle keypad button press from third party program?
    By ultravelocity in forum 3rd-party Integration - RA2
    Replies: 7
    Last Post: 08-03-2016, 07:05 PM
  3. Program Cycle Dim as a Conditional on a Button Press/Release
    By Armando B. in forum Programming - HWQS
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: 10-30-2015, 12:29 PM
  4. Can we program a button to do Full-Flash mode?
    By jchitrady in forum Programming - RA2
    Replies: 13
    Last Post: 09-08-2015, 01:42 PM
  5. Execute Double Tap Programming without the Press programming
    By Armando B. in forum Programming - Legacy HW
    Replies: 0
    Last Post: 11-12-2013, 11:52 AM

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •