Results 1 to 6 of 6

Thread: RD-RD will turn light on, but not off

  1. #1
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Feb 2016
    Posts
    16

    RD-RD will turn light on, but not off

    Greetings,

    I have a hallway light wired in a standard three way configuration. One end has a RD-RD, and the other is a RRD-6NA. Everything from the RRD-6NA end works as expected. The RD-RD can be used to turn the light on, dim up, and dim down and turn if off as long as the light is never fully illuminated.

    However, once the light has been turned on all the way (or maybe past a certain point) the RD-RD will not work to turn off the light or dim it.

    Has anyone ever heard of this? Could it be bad wiring in the house? Could it be a bad component? Any troubleshooting tips?

    Thanks-

  2. #2
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Jun 2013
    Posts
    721
    John,
    What fixtures/lights are you dimming?
    Business Development Associate for Baker Electric Solar

    mbalay@bakerelectricsolar.com

  3. #3
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Feb 2016
    Posts
    16
    Quote Originally Posted by SanDiegoRep View Post
    John,
    What fixtures/lights are you dimming?
    It is a single dimmable LED.

    Dimmable LED - 17 Watt - A21 - Omni-Directional - 100 Watt Equal

    1,600 Lumens - 2700K Warm White - GU24 Base - 120 Volt - Green Creative 16332


  4. #4
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Jun 2013
    Posts
    721
    John- that is above the minimum load req. for a 6NA. You might check that the RD-RD is on the line side of the dimmer- Ie. power in--> RD-RD --> 6NA -->switch leg to load. If the remote is after the dimmer, you can get strange things.
    Business Development Associate for Baker Electric Solar

    mbalay@bakerelectricsolar.com

  5. Thanks johngalt thanked for this post
    Likes johngalt liked this post
  6. #5
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Feb 2016
    Posts
    16
    Thanks for the suggestion. I will confirm the wiring.

    Any tricks on how to check without disconnecting or pulling out the switches?? The least favorite thing I do in home improvement is stuffing the switch with all the wires back into the electrical box.

    Any tricks....other than using extra deep boxes. :)

  7. #6
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Feb 2016
    Posts
    16
    Quote Originally Posted by SanDiegoRep View Post
    John- that is above the minimum load req. for a 6NA. You might check that the RD-RD is on the line side of the dimmer- Ie. power in--> RD-RD --> 6NA -->switch leg to load. If the remote is after the dimmer, you can get strange things.
    Thanks! It turns out the electrician had swapped the 6NA and the RD-RD. I swapped them and now everything is working perfectly.

    Thanks again.

Similar Threads

  1. Double Tap to Turn Off?
    By JeffreySkalny in forum Programming - HWQS
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: 01-05-2016, 08:33 AM
  2. Cannot Eliminate 2-Second Turn Off
    By David Haddad in forum Troubleshooting - HWQS
    Replies: 5
    Last Post: 11-05-2015, 09:38 PM
  3. Set lamp to turn on for 5 minutes only?
    By shahidhaque in forum Design Assistance - CAS
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: 08-17-2015, 05:37 PM
  4. Timed event won't turn off
    By Moondog in forum Troubleshooting - CAS
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: 08-11-2015, 12:35 PM
  5. Lights turn on by themselves
    By randyc in forum Troubleshooting - RA2
    Replies: 5
    Last Post: 11-11-2014, 12:18 PM

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •