Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 12

Thread: How Does Honeywell WiFi Thermostat Work?

  1. #1
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Sep 2013
    Posts
    395

    How Does Honeywell WiFi Thermostat Work?

    I'm trying to understand how the Honeywell WiFi thermostats work with Caseta, and I can't find a lot of info on it. Does someone have a document or experience integrating these? Thanks!

  2. #2
    Authorized Lutron Contributor
    Join Date
    May 2013
    Posts
    329
    You would first need to set up the thermostat with Honeywell, per their instructions.
    Then you should be able to add it to the Caseta system via "Add a Device" in the Caseta app.
    When you go to add the device, the app will ask you for the username and password you used to registered the thermostat with Honeywell.

  3. Thanks schalliol thanked for this post
  4. #3
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Oct 2013
    Posts
    360
    Does the bridge communicate with the thermostats locally, or through the web services?

  5. #4
    Authorized Lutron Contributor
    Join Date
    May 2013
    Posts
    329
    It communicates through web services.

  6. #5
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Sep 2013
    Posts
    395
    To be clear, you're referring to the thermostat sends info to a Honeywell Web server outside the local network, which communicates with the Connect Bridge, which then communicates with the Master Repeater?

  7. #6
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Dec 2014
    Posts
    251
    Quote Originally Posted by wkearney99 View Post
    Does the bridge communicate with the thermostats locally, or through the web services?
    Bridge does not communicate with third party thermostats such as Honeywell or Nest. There is no direct integration between Caseta bridge and these thermostats. What you get is the direct control of the thermostat from Caseta app, so it saves you from keeping (and opening) another app when all you want to do is to check on it or make an adjustment. That's all.

  8. #7
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Sep 2013
    Posts
    395
    I asked some of this here with the idea for RR2, and I know I'm in the Caseta forum. I asked about it here assuming there might be some experience. For the RR2, I understood that the bridge communicates with the thermostat, but maybe not and it's just associated so it works in the app.

  9. #8
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Dec 2014
    Posts
    251
    For the RR2, thermostat programmed through Essentials/Inclusive is fully integrated with/controlled by RR2 main repeater. I am guessing that when Connect Bridge for HWQS/RR2 is released, it will "inherit" support for additional thermostats from the Caseta, and with the same capabilities - control from the app only, and it won't be possible to program a keypad button or scene to control it.

  10. #9
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Sep 2013
    Posts
    395
    It would be disappointing and inconsistent with the way RR2 works for the system to support a device in the app but not in the rest of the home's control. Tech support suggested it would be possible, although I know it's early days. I'm not sure why the bridge would be needed at all for such integration if the device is controlled only in the cloud anyway. I thought the point was for the bridge to talk to the main repeater and other devices through the cloud.

    I highly recommend if the position stated here is the way it will be for Lutron to reconsider the way the programming will work.

    This is sufficiently off RR2 for this thread. Perhaps it could be moved to the RR2 forum. Sorry for choosing the wrong place to put it in.

  11. #10
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Oct 2013
    Posts
    360
    A lot of the Honeywell stuff gets routed out through their web services (cloud) interface via XML service calls. I'm guessing the bridges don't have the necessary software to handle those kinds of network calls. This is an area where 3rd party integration would be relevant. How do you see a RR2 system making use of this? By using a Pico or buttons on a keypad?

Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Similar Threads

  1. Caseta Wireless Brigde Pro compatible with Honeywell Lyric Thermostat?
    By Alexflux in forum 3rd-party Integration - CAS
    Replies: 2
    Last Post: 05-23-2015, 02:44 PM
  2. use Honeywell Wi-Fi Thermostat
    By saeed in forum General Discussion - Shades
    Replies: 2
    Last Post: 02-26-2015, 12:28 AM
  3. Four heatmiser wifi thermostats
    By mehuneau in forum Troubleshooting - HWQS
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: 12-08-2014, 02:07 PM
  4. Honeywell WiFi Thermostats
    By therockhr in forum General Discussion - RA2
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: 10-24-2014, 04:04 PM
  5. Honeywell WiFi Thermostats
    By therockhr in forum 3rd-party Integration - RA2
    Replies: 0
    Last Post: 09-18-2014, 12:24 PM

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •