Results 1 to 6 of 6

Thread: EcoSystem and Homeworks QS

  1. #1
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Oct 2013
    Posts
    11

    EcoSystem and Homeworks QS

    We have yet to integrate Eco with QS and I was wondering if anyone has done this yet? Specifically how does the addressing of the drivers happen? Also, I believe that we can "permanently" assign multiple drivers to a single address, for loads which will never be separated and/or re-addressed.....correct? I have been unable to find any king of tutorial or even a help file on the web.

  2. Thanks digit1 thanked for this post
  3. #2
    Super Moderator
    Join Date
    May 2013
    Posts
    398
    Quote Originally Posted by oldguy View Post
    We have yet to integrate Eco with QS and I was wondering if anyone has done this yet? Specifically how does the addressing of the drivers happen? Also, I believe that we can "permanently" assign multiple drivers to a single address, for loads which will never be separated and/or re-addressed.....correct? I have been unable to find any king of tutorial or even a help file on the web.
    Dear oldguy,

    Attached is the white paper that was created for using Ecosystem in HomeWorks QS. This can also be found on the MyLutron portal.
    Attached Files Attached Files

  4. #3
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Oct 2013
    Posts
    14
    It's easy & intuitive. I did it yesterday for a small group of test fixtures. The fixtures are grouped together in switchlegs under Design / Loads. Enter the first fixture & then duplicate. The drivers are addressed in the Activate tab, under "ballasts." The initial communication takes a long time during the activation process, pushing 5 minutes on a very simple 5 fixture set up. Once that's done, the program flashes each fixture in sequence. and you confirm the flashing, much like activating a shade using the wiggle method. Then there's a brief confirmation step. Very easy.

  5. #4
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Sep 2013
    Posts
    341
    DS- did you experiment with the lights much after setup? I have heard that there can be a 'popcorn' type effect with all on/all off type scenes. I only got to experiment with this once on a test board and I thought I saw the same thing. I really like the engineering side of ecosystem but I'll have a hard time implementing it if rooms with multiple zones don't ramp in unison with a simple command like 'all on'.

  6. #5
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Oct 2013
    Posts
    14
    I only had a set of 5 fixtures, but they were absolutely synchronous, no popcorning.

  7. #6
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Sep 2013
    Posts
    341
    good to hear- were those 5 fixtures defined as 1 zone, or were they each separate zones?

    I went back to my notes and can tell you that I tried control of the 3 zones 2 ways:
    control 3 zones with programming that most of us in the resi world use: Lighting Zones (check off all 3 zones in the preset window)
    control 3 zones with Lighting Area Presets- as recommended in ecosystem white paper (choose a scene in that area that turned on all 3 zones no fade)
    In both programming models the 3 zones seemed to turn on sequentially.
    Maybe I was doing something wrong.

Similar Threads

  1. Replies: 0
    Last Post: 01-29-2016, 01:16 PM
  2. Controlling HomeWorks QS using HomeWorks Illumination
    By Armando B. in forum 3rd-party Integration - Legacy HW
    Replies: 6
    Last Post: 03-27-2015, 09:40 AM
  3. Using HomeWorks QS to Control a HomeWorks Illumination System
    By Armando B. in forum 3rd-party Integration - HWQS
    Replies: 9
    Last Post: 01-23-2015, 04:31 PM
  4. Replies: 2
    Last Post: 12-11-2013, 04:29 PM
  5. Upgrading HomeWorks Interactive to HomeWorks Illuminations
    By Armando B. in forum Design Assistance - Legacy HW
    Replies: 0
    Last Post: 10-17-2013, 05:47 PM

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •