Thanks Thanks:  0
Likes Likes:  0
Dislikes Dislikes:  0
Results 1 to 6 of 6

Thread: QS Shade Issue with noisy wire

  1. #1
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Oct 2013
    Posts
    10

    QS Shade Issue with noisy wire

    Our main QS shade wire was damaged and the backup wire is picking up lots of noise. The shade powers up but mux/mux- is not happy. Everything is closed up so running a new wire is not an feasible option. Any suggestions? Thanks.

  2. #2
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Jun 2013
    Posts
    815
    What system are the shades running on? You could always convert the shade to wireless. Power would still come from the existing wire (you didn't say if there were problems there) but communication could run wireless through the dongle.
    Business Development Associate for Baker Electric Solar

    mbalay@bakerelectricsolar.com

  3. #3
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Oct 2013
    Posts
    10
    HWQS. Thanks for the suggestion, but I'm trying to avoid switching to wireless b/c we would need to add another P6 processor for the RF link.

  4. #4
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Jun 2013
    Posts
    815
    The Lutronites will probably join in, but I think if you can't fix the mux/mux- line, you may not have a choice. You could go stand-alone with a Pico and the dongle, but that defeats the purpose of HWQS full automation.
    Business Development Associate for Baker Electric Solar

    mbalay@bakerelectricsolar.com

  5. #5
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Sep 2013
    Posts
    355
    Quote Originally Posted by chutai9 View Post
    Our main QS shade wire was damaged and the backup wire is picking up lots of noise. The shade powers up but mux/mux- is not happy. Everything is closed up so running a new wire is not an feasible option. Any suggestions? Thanks.
    can you detail what 'mux/mux- is not happy' means?

    I've thought I had wire or device problems in the past but after checking over everything found that an installer landed one side of the mux wiring backwards- if I recall correctly the drive LED would blink (red or green I don't remember). The drive would work fine from the setup buttons on the drive but fail to activate.

  6. #6
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Oct 2013
    Posts
    10
    Problem solved. Turns out the noise on the shielded pair of wire was acceptable. The problem was corrected upstream. There's a long backstory involving contractors, architects, & delays. Thank you all for your input.

Similar Threads

  1. Maestro Controls - Solid Wire Only???
    By mark2457 in forum General Discussion - RA2
    Replies: 7
    Last Post: 09-05-2015, 09:09 AM
  2. Cable to Wire Repeaters
    By Armando B. in forum Design Assistance - RA2
    Replies: 8
    Last Post: 02-11-2015, 01:46 PM
  3. Hybrid Keypad Neutral wire (When use it)?
    By Fabio Bortolin in forum General Discussion - HWQS
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: 11-13-2014, 04:18 PM
  4. Pre wire for shades
    By T1V1AK in forum Design Assistance - Shades
    Replies: 4
    Last Post: 02-21-2014, 08:31 PM
  5. Hardware Request: 3-wire RPM & WMPM
    By mjs@ehi in forum General Discussion - HWQS
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: 10-24-2013, 10:52 AM

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •