Results 1 to 6 of 6

Thread: Old Style Vareos (No DIP Switches)

  1. #1

    Question Old Style Vareos (No DIP Switches)

    Given a system running Illumination that contains Vareos that *do not* have DIP switches, is it possible to:

    1) determine the address of the Vareo
    2) change the address of the Vareo
    3) reset the Vareo to "no" address or perhaps factory default

    thanks

  2. #2
    Super Moderator
    Join Date
    May 2013
    Posts
    395
    Quote Originally Posted by jkvossen View Post
    Given a system running Illumination that contains Vareos that *do not* have DIP switches, is it possible to:

    1) determine the address of the Vareo
    2) change the address of the Vareo
    3) reset the Vareo to "no" address or perhaps factory default

    thanks
    Dear Jkvossen,

    Thank you for the inquiry.

    If you have a HW Vareo that does not have dip switches would indicate an older model from an Original HomeWorks system. The Original HomeWorks processor would give these devices an address with the software and cannot be changed. The Vareo can still be used in a newer system but remain at the address it was previously given.

  3. #3
    Quote Originally Posted by Kevin P. View Post
    Dear Jkvossen,

    Thank you for the inquiry.

    If you have a HW Vareo that does not have dip switches would indicate an older model from an Original HomeWorks system. The Original HomeWorks processor would give these devices an address with the software and cannot be changed. The Vareo can still be used in a newer system but remain at the address it was previously given.
    so you can never change them?

    what happens now if a Vareo goes bad and I need to replace it? What would be the procedure/process for getting that addressed properly in Illumination?

    thanks

  4. #4
    Super Moderator
    Join Date
    May 2013
    Posts
    395
    Quote Originally Posted by jkvossen View Post
    so you can never change them?

    what happens now if a Vareo goes bad and I need to replace it? What would be the procedure/process for getting that addressed properly in Illumination?

    thanks
    Dear Jkvossen,

    If a Vareo needs to be replaced then you will replace with a new dip switch model and address accordingly. If you are trying to replace with an older non-dip switch model then it must match the address of the previous Vareo.

  5. #5
    Quote Originally Posted by Kevin P. View Post
    Dear Jkvossen,

    If a Vareo needs to be replaced then you will replace with a new dip switch model and address accordingly. If you are trying to replace with an older non-dip switch model then it must match the address of the previous Vareo.

    ok...if a vareo is replaced with another older style (w/o DIP switches), how does one set the address?

    thanks

  6. #6
    Super Moderator
    Join Date
    May 2013
    Posts
    395
    Quote Originally Posted by jkvossen View Post
    ok...if a vareo is replaced with another older style (w/o DIP switches), how does one set the address?

    thanks
    Dear jkvossen,

    If you have an extra older style HWV then the address cannot be set in Illumination. The Original HomeWorks processor would assign the address to the Vareo. Be aware this is for HWV and not the regular non-system Vareos. The non-system Vareos do not have dip switches and cannot work as part of a HomeWorks system.

Similar Threads

  1. Caseta Pro Switches
    By mark2457 in forum General Discussion - CAS
    Replies: 21
    Last Post: 12-24-2015, 03:08 PM
  2. Shimming switches
    By asherrick in forum Troubleshooting - CAS
    Replies: 4
    Last Post: 09-01-2015, 09:12 PM
  3. Edison Style LED Bulb with Caseta C.L. Dimmer
    By createthis in forum General Discussion - CAS
    Replies: 11
    Last Post: 06-30-2015, 11:18 AM
  4. Cant see Designer Style Kepads in software
    By Michaelwake in forum Troubleshooting - HWQS
    Replies: 3
    Last Post: 08-19-2014, 10:30 AM

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •