Thanks Thanks:  0
Likes Likes:  0

Thread: Issue extracting project from main repeater on old firmware

Issue extracting project from main repeater on old firmware

Hi,

I just moved into a new apartment which has Lutron controlling the blinds/drapes, I've never used Lutron before so this is all new to me so please forgive any glaring oversights.
    It seems they had some events for open/closing the blinds and I wanted to change the times.
    I connected main repeater to network but it didn't show up so I assumed that it had a static IP set on previous owners network.
    I connected directly from laptop and used wireshark to determine IP and set my laptop ethernet connection to IP on same subnet.
    It actually didn't have a static IP but had set itself an IP of 169.254.23.158 due to DHCP issues.
    I downloaded RadioRA2 software, did the online training and tried to extract the project file from the repeater but after starting the extraction I get an error 'Exception has been thrown by the target of an invocation'.

The repeater is running firmware 8.0.0

GNET> FIRMWAREREV
    OS Firmware Revision = 8.0.0 [Oct 31 2014 13:13:24]
    Database Design Rev = 66
    BOOT Firmware Revision = 3.0.16

I am using RadioRA 2 software version 12.10.0
    I am connected to the internet
    The firewall on laptop is disabled
    I have tried both Essentials and Inclusive but get same error on both.

From reading online I see that ideally I should be using an older matching version of the software to extract but I cannot find 8.0.0 anywhere.
    I also read that with an internet connection it should be able to be done in current software but maybe this is too many versions gap?

I did manage to change the event times by setting up a network on an old router with the same subnet of the repeater and then used the legacy home control+ app via my iPhone connected to the same subnet to edit the events. I guess one benefit of the firmware being so old!