Thanks Thanks:  0
Likes Likes:  0

Thread: Need some help with switch installation(PDW-5ANS)

Need some help with switch installation(PDW-5ANS)

First off, I'm sure it's going to be obvious but I'm a novice with electrical work, but I've so far installed several Caseta dimmers and switches, including 3-ways and 4-ways(the extra boxes I twisted the wires together and added pico remotes), plus a fan control, without much issue until now. The one I'm having trouble with is a 3-way switch, but the wiring is a bit odd. One switch has what I'd expect for wires, 1 cable with a red, black, white neutral, and the other cable has the black common wire and white neutral(the 2 neutral wires are twisted together). The other one I haven't seen wired in my house this way until now, this box has only has one cable with a red, black, and white(is this neutral?). Note that all 3 wires were connected to the old flip switch, and the ground to the box itself.

So anyway, I connected the Caseta switch to the box that has 2 cables which includes the neutral. I connected the switch's black wire to the common, the red wire to both the black and red, the white to the neutral, and of course the green to the ground(capped the blue wire). I get power to the Caseta switch. On the other box, which has only the one cable with a black/red/white/ground, I want to add a Pico. I first tried twisting all 3 red/black/white wires together, then tried twisting just the red/black and capping the white. In both cases, when I hit the On button on the Caseta switch, the light comes on for half a second then shuts off. So I'm guessing the issue is with that other box that only has the 1 cable, but I'm not sure what needs to be done there. If you think it would help you help me, I do have a multimeter and can test that white wire to see if it actually is a neutral or not.