Results 1 to 6 of 6

Thread: Pico added to gang

  1. #1

    Question Pico added to gang

    Attached is a retrofit installation we finished today. Before that, the client had three switches which as you can see were replaced with PD-6WCLs. Then we added a fourth position to the gang for a Pico remote control. The Pico was assigned to control all lights. The upper buttons therefore turns everything on, and the lower button turns everything off. The middle button sets lights to 50% and the Raise/Lower buttons, well, that we all know what they do.
    Question 1: can the middle button be programmed to 30% instead of 50%?
    Question 2: Can we program the Pico to turn everything on but at a pre-defined level (let's say 75%)? I only managed to do that using Scenes on the Lutron app, but client is not always with her phone and app opened when she arrives home.
    Thank you in advance.

    Click image for larger version. 

Name:	IMG_3815.JPG 
Views:	38 
Size:	303.8 KB 
ID:	429

  2. #2
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Jun 2013
    Posts
    571
    If you lower all the dimmers to 30% and then hold the center button for 6-7 seconds, the "favorite" will remember those levels. As far as a pre-set, Caseta does not have that feature.
    Residential Lighting and Shading Specialist for CED Escondido

    mbalay@cedescondido.com

  3. Thanks Dimerize thanked for this post
    Likes Dimerize liked this post
  4. #3
    One mistake Lutron made on these. The main dimmer needs a favorite button like the picos.

  5. #4
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Jan 2016
    Posts
    5
    Quote Originally Posted by Dimerize View Post
    Question 2: Can we program the Pico to turn everything on but at a pre-defined level (let's say 75%)? I only managed to do that using Scenes on the Lutron app, but client is not always with her phone and app opened when she arrives home.
    Thank you in advance.
    If you wanted this 75% level to be a permanent level for the On button. You could set the high-end trim of the dimmers to that level. Then even if you activate it at the dimmer, through the app, or through a pico to "100%" , it would really only allow it to go to the high-end trim you set at 75%.

    Reference the advanced programming guide here: http://www.lutron.com/TechnicalDocum...structions.pdf

  6. #5
    Authorized Lutron Contributor
    Join Date
    Aug 2013
    Posts
    109
    Quote Originally Posted by Dimerize View Post
    Question 2: Can we program the Pico to turn everything on but at a pre-defined level (let's say 75%)? I only managed to do that using Scenes on the Lutron app, but client is not always with her phone and app opened when she arrives home.
    Thank you in advance.
    @Dimerize Another option would be to replace the Pico remote that you currently have installed with a 4-button scene Pico remote (part number PJ2-4B-WH-L31P). The 4-button Pico remotes are considered a pro product, meaning they're not sold online or at retail, but you can purchase one through your local Lutron distributor. The 4-button scene Pico allows for 3 "favorite" scenes plus an all off button. In your application you could program one of the buttons to set all lights to 75%, another button to set all lights to 30%, and you'll have one button left over to set a third scene. Bottom button must be used as an all off. More information about the 4-button Pico remotes can be found here, http://www.lutron.com/TechnicalDocum...ary/369941.pdf.

  7. Thanks Dimerize thanked for this post
    Likes Dimerize liked this post
  8. #6
    @Eric H. Thanks for the info. The model L31 seems to be the best one for my case. Great tip. Thanks again.

Similar Threads

  1. Fan control and dimmer in single gang
    By StevePowers in forum Design Assistance - CAS
    Replies: 3
    Last Post: 11-21-2015, 12:18 PM
  2. Surface mount Pico next to X-gang box
    By asherrick in forum General Discussion - CAS
    Replies: 2
    Last Post: 05-18-2015, 10:53 PM
  3. one gang box, two lights and one remote.
    By npriest in forum Design Assistance - Controls
    Replies: 3
    Last Post: 03-10-2015, 06:51 PM
  4. Discovering what has been added to Main Repeater
    By ROrser in forum Programming - RA2
    Replies: 3
    Last Post: 08-23-2014, 03:58 PM
  5. Hardware in QS design tab - existing product to be added?
    By digit1 in forum General Discussion - HWQS
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: 10-28-2013, 01:17 PM

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •