Thanks Thanks:  0
Likes Likes:  0
Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: Troubleshoot flickering dimmers ?

Troubleshoot flickering dimmers ?

So I have read up on the dimmer and LED capability tool. Here is the back story. I am an electrician by trade and installed Caseta in my home finished Aug 2020. Bridge installed and app on my phone all work well. 15 or so no neutral switches and a few pico remotes.
    Laetly
    I have noticed a pronounced flickering in multiple switches controlled by different circuits.
    I have the Seagull/Generation Lighting 14540s-15 small recess style lights. I also have Ecosmart LED bulbs in a style and candelabra base.
    These lights are flickering mainly on the full range no dim option. This had not been an issue until recently. It happens to both style lights and even my under cabinet lighting which are commercial lighting products.

I have checked my panel for loose connections. Checked my ARC/GFI combo breakers. I have performed the recall on my QO panel for plug on neutrals. I have checked the voltage coming in at a steady 123 volts. 246 volts across the main. Same as the breakers in the panel. I have checked voltage at one of my dimmers at 123 volts to neutral. The load out of that switch while it is flickering in max at 102 volts. This is where Im asking if that is normal? Switch fully engaged 102 volts to the load out.

What am I missing since this is now a new occurrence ?

In the dimming mode I do not seem to have the flickering in the frequency that I see when fully engaged. They do flicker while dim just not as much.
    Neighbor had me install the same system as we have the same home. One set of lights flicker badly. Changed to a neutral dimmer with no change.

Any ideas?

To add I had the utility company out today to load test the service and transformer to rule out possible issues. They will install a monitor system for a week to record any anomalies.
    As it stands now service is within specs