Thanks Thanks:  0
Likes Likes:  0
Results 1 to 4 of 4

Thread: Question re: Caseta, hubs, two homes, Alexa

  1. #1
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Aug 2020
    Posts
    12

    Question Question re: Caseta, hubs, two homes, Alexa

    tl;dr - a question re: Amazon accounts

    --------------------------------------

    Hi folks,

    When I first made the move to Lutron Caseta, I was totally shut down with the option of using multiple hubs. And that made me stick with Lutron Caseta in my main home, and WeMo in my outbuildings.

    What was important for me was Alexa Integration. And from a verbal control perspective, the Caseta and WeMo solution really work well together.

    In other words, for me, the Amazon Alexa voice control integration is the real key part of the whole enchilada.

    I have simplified things for myself, always using a location indicator as part of the name (ex: Main-Kitchen-Light, Garage-Front-Light, Cabin-Kitchen-Light, etc.)

    So.

    I have told you all that so I can say this:

    I HAVE ADDED A SECOND HOME. a vacation home far away from the main home. and I would like to use Lutron Caseta devoices there now.

    I will first say that I have my various Amazon Echo devices working very well at the first and second home. A whole slew of Amazon Echo & Tap devices, two different networks, all on one Amazon account, no problems (even though Amazon says that is not supported). So, it is great that I get notifications and have one single account integration everywhere.

    And...

    Now, in 2022, I see that the Lutron Caseta App supports multiple homes, and allows a person to switch back and forth between home to manage a two-home integration. Which is great. For me one hub will be Colorado, and the other will be Florida. and all the devices will (like before) have that location indicator (Ex: Florida-Kitchen-Lighting, etc.)


    SO, WHAT IS THE QUESTION?

    In most of the questions other postings I have seen related to this, connecting to the Amazon Service only allows for one single hub to connect. (Clearly this limitation is Amazon's perspective that each home should have its own Amazon account. Which I see as poor programming, but hey: not my company, not my code.).

    Then I ask:


    When Lutron says: "You need an Amazon account per Hub." Does that mean that (a) I need to create an entirely separate account or (b) I need to set up a household account ?

    If the answer is (a), then this would really be disappointing as I would no longer receive what I consider "my" notifications at one of the homes. :(

    If the answer is that (b) is good, then we are solid.

    But... I would really like to know what is supported (even marginally).

    Thanks,

    Vincent


    PS... what I mean by "marginally" is that I have a Lutron Caseta on/off switch outside in a weatherproof box controlling an exterior light. Not supported... works great.

    I would be really fine with a "not supported but works good" solution.

  2. #2
    Lutron Technical Support
    Join Date
    May 2022
    Posts
    23
    Hello, currently Alexa only supports a single home. You will be able to select which home when linking the account. If you wish to have more than 1 Lutron home with Alexa, you need to create multiple Alexa accounts. Note: If you don’t create a second Alexa account in your other home, voice control can only be used to control the lights and shades in the first home you picked. So it would be answer A.

    You can learn more about how each integration behaves when using multi-homes here at: https://www.casetawireless.com/us/en/faqs

  3. #3
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Aug 2020
    Posts
    12
    @FreddyG - Wow... I just wrote a very lengthy response, the system logged me out, and it was lost in the ether.


    So, here is the abridged version: HOW do I add that second Alexa account? I looked at the FAQ info, it does not provide guidance on the HOW of adding that account to the second home.

    Yes, I created a new email and new amazon account and validate each with Gmail's and Amazon's required security hoops.

    Then I went into Lutron App / second home / settings / advanced / integration /connections... and there appears not a way to add that second Amazon Account to the Lutron Second house.

    Here is the screenshot of my Samsung Android Lutron app: your Lutron system does not have any integration connections set up

    Click image for larger version. 

Name:	Screenshot_20221124_115236_Lutron.jpg 
Views:	5 
Size:	312.5 KB 
ID:	974


    Under the first home, it does recognize Amazon Alexa integration. The second does not have any way to add it.

    Please provide specific steps I should take to add that second Alexa account info to the Luton second home. There is much guidance on how to do ONE... but nothing that I have found that discusses the set-up for the SECOND Hub / Home.

    Thank you.

    ----------------------------------------------------------

    ps: I would be willing to volunteer my time working with Lutron to resolve this multiple hub / one account product shortcoming. While I commend Lutron in adding the ability to add a second home, the lack of practical multi-house voice control is jarring.

    And Customer Experience is all about easy. Voice Control is critical.

    We can discuss with a compare and contrast of the KMC Smart experience. Multiple homes, no hubs, dozen devices at both homes, one Amazon account (so that means dozens of connections to my Alexa account, and Lutron does only ONE), and that means simple voice control across both hubs/homes.

  4. #4
    Lutron Technical Support
    Join Date
    Mar 2022
    Posts
    66
    The integration is done through the Alexa app. Please visit the support article here for instructions on how to integrate your second Amazon account to your Caseta bridge.

Similar Threads

  1. Multiple home Caseta with Alexa
    By TahoeFred in forum 3rd-party Integration - CAS
    Replies: 7
    Last Post: 09-23-2021, 09:20 AM
  2. Multiple homes with Alexa and Lutron Connect ?
    By lmaugustin in forum General Discussion - HWQS
    Replies: 2
    Last Post: 07-06-2021, 12:08 AM
  3. Ring, Caseta and Alexa
    By Auggie28 in forum 3rd-party Integration - CAS
    Replies: 2
    Last Post: 11-29-2019, 06:34 PM
  4. Any Caseta device that requires a neutral won't work in any of my homes
    By psychobunny in forum Troubleshooting - CAS
    Replies: 13
    Last Post: 10-14-2017, 02:38 PM
  5. Caseta in Two homes
    By jfischetti in forum General Discussion - CAS
    Replies: 3
    Last Post: 11-01-2016, 09:57 PM

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •