Hi all,

I'm a commercial sector Crestron programmer. We have a project in which we just integrated a Vive system that included about 90 zones. I am not the Vive system programmer.

From what I can tell, every load is linked to a PowPak RMJS-8T 0-10V Dimming Module, including what are labeled as "color temp" loads which just change the color temp of a zone. I'm not sure if this is just done by turning on and dimming an additional 0-10V yellow channel or what.

The contractor that programmed the Vive system has a separate room for every load and every color. He said that it was impossible to put multiple loads in a room. I don't believe this, but it's what I got. I don't think it matters.

Here are the questions I have:
  • When the sales engineer told Crestron we were integrating with Lutron Vive, they told them we'd need a BACnet license for our CP4, due to the number of devices. However, I found the Vive control modules on Crestron's website, and tried that first. I don't know why BACnet was on the table because, my understanding is that BACnet really wouldn't give us realtime control and that changes might take seconds/minutes to propagate. The Crestron modules only talk to the hub, so I don't know why the number of devices is relevant. In any case, I'm not using the BACnet license. I did not encounter any issues with max number of devices or anything. If there is a limit I couldn't find where this information is published.
  • Control with the Crestron modules is working just fine.
  • One thing about Vive that I can't find is the ability for the end user to create a look and store the current values as a Scene. I found in the Vive hub where you can create a scene, assign rooms/loads to it, and specify the values for that scene, but it seems you have to know the levels you want. Or am I not looking in the right place?