Thanks Thanks:  0
Likes Likes:  0
Dislikes Dislikes:  0

Thread: Do Caseta dimmers without neutral wire 'assume' or require the use of the Hub?

Do Caseta dimmers without neutral wire 'assume' or require the use of the Hub?

Hello,

This is my first time here, so please forgive me if I've erred in someway by posting poorly. My advance appologies to the forum steward for suffering the work of possiby moving or correcting my posting. Sorry!

I had a Lutron smart switch (MRF2=8ANS-120), but I needed a dimmer. Not knowing sufficient about them yet, I bought the only model they sell at Home Depot which is the Caseta PD-6WCL. Unbeknowst to me, this model doesn't make use of a neutral like the MRF2. [The PD-5NE Caseta dimmer uses a neutral but isn't available locally and cost $60 or more over the other model online, because it can be used with ELV's.]

The short of it is that the PD-6WCL connected as directed doesn't power up in my configuration; but then neither did the MRF3 until you connected the neutral. So with no where to connect the neutral, my question is, do the 'non' neutral versions of these Caseta dimmers assume, in compensation of not requiring a neutral, that you will spend the money to get the hub, or is there some way to hook them up such that the work.

Thanks!

Lutron Technical Support
    The PD-6WCL does not need a neutral connection because it gets powered by the dimmable lights that it is connected to. Are you able to try an incandescent or halogen light bulb connected to this dimmer? The dimmer will not power up if there is no lighting load connected to it.

Hi Kyle,