Thanks Thanks:  0
Likes Likes:  0
Results 1 to 6 of 6

Thread: Lutron app not seeing RRST-PRO-N

  1. #1
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Jan 2019
    Posts
    7

    Question Lutron app not seeing RRST-PRO-N

    I've installed several Sunnata RRST-PRO-N dimmers and I was able to activate them using the Lutron iPad app without issue. However, I have one that is part of a 4-way switch and the app doesn't see it to activate. It seems to work just fine from the switch, including the companion dimmers, and no blinking leds or anything else to indicate a problem.

    My only guess at the problem is possibly the neutral. I had to install the
    RRST-PRO-N at the load side and there was no neutral available in this box but I was able to run a neutral from the light fixture to the box. Do you think that could have something to do with this behavior?

    Thanks!

    Louis

  2. #2
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Oct 2013
    Posts
    2,432
    I'm a little confused on the wiring. Unless you have a really old house, there should be a neutral at the (load) end where the wire goes up to the light.

    Not all white wires are neutrals. Check the voltage between the hot and neutral. If it is a neutral you should get 120v.

    Generally, neutral devices want to be the device closest to the load.
    Convergence Technologies Raleigh, North Carolina
    www.convergenceusa.com

  3. #3
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Jan 2019
    Posts
    7
    Thanks for your reply.

    My home was built about 1960. There was no neutral on the load end box.

    I'll check the voltage to double check but hard to imagine this isn't a neutral. There were only 2 wires at the light fixture, black and white. I have the black connected to the brass screw on the dimmer. Seems to me the white has to be the neutral but to your point, I need to run a voltage check. Even so, I'd expect LED error at the dimmer or some other malfunction yet all switches are working just fine.

    Louis

  4. #4
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Oct 2013
    Posts
    2,432
    The dimmer should be in the box where that black/white combo that is at the fixture ends up. In a traditional 3/4 way power comes in on one end, goes through the switches and up to the light at the other end (switch leg). In some cases the power and switch leg are at the same end. The electrician will relay power to the other end. This is probably why there is no neutral at the end.

    If the electrician relayed the power you should be ok. If he relayed the switch leg you will need to do some rewiring as you will need all 3 of the conductors at the dead-end.
    Convergence Technologies Raleigh, North Carolina
    www.convergenceusa.com

  5. #5
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Jan 2019
    Posts
    7
    To be clear, there is no hot in the load box. Just the load wire and two travelers for the 4-way switch. The attached picture shows what was there before I installed the RRST-PRO-N.
    Click image for larger version. 

Name:	4-waya.jpg 
Views:	5 
Size:	324.5 KB 
ID:	961

    I ran to the box what I believe is a neutral from the light fixture. There are two wires at the fixture; the black load wire that runs to this switch and what I expect to be the neutral white wire also connected to the fixture.

    I still need to do a voltage check but I'll rephrase my question.

    Can the RRST-PRO-N work without a neutral? If yes, is the neutral required for the switch to be accessible by the Lutron App?

    Thanks!

    Louis

  6. #6
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Jan 2019
    Posts
    7
    So it turns out that a factory reset of the switches was all I needed to do. Everything is working now.

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •