Thanks Thanks:  1
Likes Likes:  2
Page 1 of 4 123 ... LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 31

Thread: Default (preset) dim level request

  1. #1
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Nov 2015
    Posts
    6

    Default (preset) dim level request

    Bought the bridge with two in-wall dimmers. Installed the bridge and one dimmer in my office to try it out. Installation of both bridge and dimmer went very well. Homekit integration works well. One feature I am missing on the dimmer though is a default dim level. The Pico remote does have the feature but the in-wall dimmer does not. As I am using the Maestro dimmers currently and they do have this feature, I can not go beyond my trial and roll out Caseta dimmers to the rest of my house.

    Lutron, any thoughts on this? Will this be offered on future versions of the Caseta dimmers? Any ideas on implementing a work around through the app?

    Anyone else, any thoughts on this which may help me in my quest? I would really like to expand as I do like the system but currently it will not fly with the other people in my house without the default dim level feature.

    Thanks.

  2. #2
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Mar 2015
    Posts
    147
    This is one of my biggest gripes with Caseta.

  3. #3
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Dec 2015
    Posts
    3
    When the device is off just hit the up arrow on the dimmer once. That should send it to the default trim level just like the pico center button does. You should also notice that the up button is embossed with a little tactile nipple if fumbling in the dark.

  4. #4
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Mar 2015
    Posts
    147
    Quote Originally Posted by Tlp123 View Post
    When the device is off just hit the up arrow on the dimmer once. That should send it to the default trim level...
    Assuming that the trim level can be adjusted to any level, that would be a clever hack to create a default preset level. The downside, of course, is that you could never dim the light below that level.

    Quote Originally Posted by Tlp123 View Post
    ...just like the pico center button does.
    That's not how the center Pico button works. That's a preset that can be set to any level (it defaults to 50%).

  5. #5
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Dec 2015
    Posts
    3
    Quote Originally Posted by asherrick View Post
    Assuming that the trim level can be adjusted to any level, that would be a clever hack to create a default preset level. The downside, of course, is that you could never dim the light below that level.



    That's not how the center Pico button works. That's a preset that can be set to any level (it defaults to 50%).
    I haven't messed with my trim levels yet but out the box it the dimmer does not go to the default trim level of the pico (50%) when you click on the up arrow once. I confirmed this by looking at the percentage state on the iphone app in real time. This may be hard to change if at all since the dimmer is hardwired to the light and is direct while the pico wireless and in my config it goes through the smart hub.

  6. #6
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Nov 2015
    Posts
    6
    Although I am a huge fan of tactile nipples I am afraid that this does not match the functionality of the Pico remote.

    I guess we have to wait for a new version of the in wall dimmer. Come on Lutron!!!!!

  7. #7
    Authorized Lutron Contributor
    Join Date
    May 2013
    Posts
    400
    Quote Originally Posted by Tlp123 View Post
    I haven't messed with my trim levels yet but out the box it the dimmer does not go to the default trim level of the pico (50%) when you click on the up arrow once. I confirmed this by looking at the percentage state on the iphone app in real time. This may be hard to change if at all since the dimmer is hardwired to the light and is direct while the pico wireless and in my config it goes through the smart hub.
    If you tap the up arrow on the dimmer, the dimmer will only dim the lights up for however long you hold that arrow. It will not go to 50%, unless you keep holding it until you get to the 50% level.

  8. #8
    Authorized Lutron Contributor
    Join Date
    May 2013
    Posts
    400
    Quote Originally Posted by Sforsten View Post
    Although I am a huge fan of tactile nipples I am afraid that this does not match the functionality of the Pico remote.

    I guess we have to wait for a new version of the in wall dimmer. Come on Lutron!!!!!
    Requests for an in-wall Caseta dimmer with a center favorite button have been forwarded to our engineering design department.

  9. #9
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Nov 2015
    Posts
    6
    Quote Originally Posted by Brian W. View Post
    Requests for an in-wall Caseta dimmer with a center favorite button have been forwarded to our engineering design department.
    Thank you. Appreciate your reply.

    I hope you don't mind but I won't start holding my breath just yet.

  10. Thanks wkearney99 thanked for this post
    Likes wkearney99 liked this post
  11. #10
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Dec 2015
    Posts
    3
    Quote Originally Posted by Brian W. View Post
    Requests for an in-wall Caseta dimmer with a center favorite button have been forwarded to our engineering design department.
    Better yet how about a firmware update to address this short coming. If you press both the UP/DN at the same time it goes to the favorite setting. I have had to rethink where I put my dimmer and pico based on the use of the favorite button.

Page 1 of 4 123 ... LastLast

Similar Threads

  1. disabling default telnet login
    By Bktay in forum General Discussion - RA2
    Replies: 5
    Last Post: 02-04-2016, 11:54 AM
  2. Device Preset Database Was Not Updated
    By totalcontrol in forum Troubleshooting - RA2
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: 08-13-2015, 12:02 PM
  3. Default On Level for 2ANF...
    By Swancoat in forum General Discussion - RA2
    Replies: 3
    Last Post: 06-02-2015, 05:29 PM
  4. Replies: 2
    Last Post: 06-24-2014, 11:27 PM

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •