Thanks Thanks:  2
Likes Likes:  2
Dislikes Dislikes:  0
Results 1 to 8 of 8

Thread: Sending HTTP commands?

  1. #1
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Feb 2021
    Posts
    5

    Sending HTTP commands?

    Hi, could anybody point me in the right direction on how to send HTTP commands using the 'Ethernet Integration Devices' feature now found in Designer 21.5 + ?

    I would like to send HTTP commands to Yamaha Musiccast system eg:


    http://192.168.5.219/YamahaExtendedC...lume?volume=up


    But tried many different ways but so far not had any success ?

    Any pointers / info gratefully received!

  2. #2
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Jan 2017
    Posts
    3
    Quote Originally Posted by AVMagic View Post
    Hi, could anybody point me in the right direction on how to send HTTP commands using the 'Ethernet Integration Devices' feature now found in Designer 21.5 + ?

    I would like to send HTTP commands to Yamaha Musiccast system eg:


    http://192.168.5.219/YamahaExtendedC...lume?volume=up


    But tried many different ways but so far not had any success ?

    Any pointers / info gratefully received!
    Hi AVMagic,
    So you just need to send GET request right? Then your request should looks something like below:
    GET /YamahaExtendedControl/v1/main/setVolume?volume=up HTTP/1.1*Host:192.168.5.219**

    Where * is a new Line Feed (LF) character. Note that after the Host command we write it twice. It is important to check that the new line in HEX format is 0A! To do this, you need to switch to HEX mode. If you edit command parameters in ASCII format, the program automatically changes this character from 0A to 2A. In this case, the character will be misinterpreted by a third-party device and no control will occur. Therefore, after editing in ASCII you have to switch to HEX and change the character values from 2A to 0A again

  3. Thanks AVMagic thanked for this post
    Likes AVMagic liked this post
  4. #3
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Feb 2021
    Posts
    5
    Hi code_bit - and many thanks for your reply.

    Unfortunately I'm still not there yet..!

    I can confirm that:

    http://192.168.1.25/YamahaExtendedCo...lume?volume=up

    sent from a web browser will raise the volume of the device.



    GET /YamahaExtendedControl/v1/main/setVolume?volume=up HTTP/1.1*Host:192.168.1.25**

    Sent from Lutron does not appear to do anything..

    As you suggested I changed the 2A line feed characters to 0A in Hex view - you were correct that Lutron changed them to 2A.


    Only other parameters for the 'Ethernet Device' in Homeworks are:

    Port Number - for the 'Ethernet Device' ( default is 23 and I've also tried 80)

    Address - I've left blank but also tried 192.168.1.25

    And intermessage delay - 2048 default

    Username - blank

    Password - blank



    Can you think of anything else I could try ?

    Many thanks again!

  5. #4
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Feb 2021
    Posts
    5

    Smile

    Got it !

    Requires the IP address to be specified in the 'Ethernet Device' settings.

    And then the command is:

    GET /YamahaExtendedControl/v1/main/setVolume?volume=up HTTP/1.1**


    So no IP address in the actual command.


    Thanks again code-bit for very much pointing me in the right direction - I now have Lutron control of Musiccast !



    Now all I need to figure out is a press & hold volume ramp....?

  6. #5
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Jan 2017
    Posts
    3
    You are welcome!
    For testing and debugging in such cases, I used TCP Server App for Android https://play.google.com/store/apps/d...er&hl=en&gl=US. I'm not sure if there is something similar for iOS, but i believe there is. This software allows you to create a TCP server on your smartphone in a couple of clicks, then specify its IP address and port in the Lutron settings and see what exact messages are sent by the Lutron processor.
    I also use free software like Putty or the native Telnet.exe client in Windows to test if the Raw Tcp/Telnet commands for HTTP are entered correctly(number of LF and CR etc)

    To make the volume increase on hold, you can create the automatic sequence and set it so that it starts and sends a volume increase command on hold, and stops on release.

  7. Thanks AVMagic thanked for this post
    Likes AVMagic liked this post
  8. #6
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Feb 2021
    Posts
    5
    Ah yes a sequence would do it !

    Many thanks again 👍

  9. #7
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Dec 2013
    Posts
    489
    Interesting...so does that mean that QSX can send out telnet commands but just can't receive it?

  10. #8
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Jan 2017
    Posts
    3
    QSX can send and receive telnet commands. In order to receive a command and do something in the system you need to add a command and set Communication Direction to From Ethernet Device.
    Click image for larger version. 

Name:	3rd party.jpg 
Views:	16 
Size:	48.3 KB 
ID:	928
    Just keep in mind that in case of Ethernet Device commands Lutron processor always acts as a client, that is a device that initiates a connection to a specific socket (IP address and port) (in contrast to Integration Protocol for QS, where the processor acts as a Telnet server)

Similar Threads

  1. Sending Lutron commands to Lutron :)
    By franlog in forum 3rd-party Integration - HWQS
    Replies: 3
    Last Post: 03-22-2019, 03:47 PM
  2. http://ip_address/DbXmlInfo.xml
    By vining in forum 3rd-party Integration - HWQS
    Replies: 5
    Last Post: 04-22-2018, 06:42 PM
  3. 3rdParty HTTP Device
    By sergiobaiao in forum 3rd-party Integration - HWQS
    Replies: 0
    Last Post: 02-13-2018, 05:05 PM
  4. HTTP Control from Lutron
    By Peter Licht in forum 3rd-party Integration - HWQS
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: 03-21-2016, 11:54 AM
  5. Main Repeater HTTP login?
    By grork in forum General Discussion - RA2
    Replies: 3
    Last Post: 08-20-2015, 05:53 PM

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •