Thanks Thanks:  0
Likes Likes:  0
Results 1 to 3 of 3

Thread: Repeater Connects but I cant add devices near it. Help!!

  1. #1
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Aug 2021
    Posts
    2

    Repeater Connects but I cant add devices near it. Help!!

    I am a previous insteon user and hated the system. I was told that Lutron Caseta would be my happy place. It totally was until I ran into this weird issue. I have a house about 4200 sq ft that has the bridge and about 40 devices attached the the Lutron app. All works perfectly. I then wanted to expand the system to my guest house and I added all new Caseta light switches and dimmers to my Guest House which is approx 30 feet away from my main house. I added a Repeater and it connected perfectly which would make sense that I would now be able to add the light switches within feet from the repeater. Well, it doesn't work. Not a single Lutron Device in the Guest house will connect to the system. Again, the repeater connects, but I just cant add anything. Here are steps I took already.1) I moved the repeater to several locations, and they connected in all or most of them. (tried to add a switch that is 3 feet away from the connected repeater and it didn't work)2) I unplugged the Bridge and then unplugged the repeater and then reconnected it to the network.. I waited for all to be connected and then again, (tried to add a switch that is 3 feet away from the connected repeater and it didn't work)3) I factory reset the switch, then again tried to (add that same switch that is 3 feet away from the connected repeater and it didn't work)4) I turned off the switch (pulled the pin out) then reset both the repeater and the bridge and reconnected it and again, tried to add that same switch that is 3 feet away from the connected repeater and it didn't work)5) I called customer service and spoke to them and they said that I should call back during regular business hours. He was stumped as well.I am stumped and tried everything. Does anyone know if this is a normal occurrence and what the issue can be? Thanks in advance.

  2. #2
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Apr 2021
    Posts
    6
    Is the repeater that you are using the Lutron repeater PD-REP? Also, did you add it to the Lutron app by clicking on Add Device->Repeater? If you did all that already, are there any metal surfaces between the bridge and repeater? Even something small like a metal cabinet could affect the RF signal

  3. #3
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Oct 2013
    Posts
    2,188
    You have the correct repeater or the system would not recognize it. You could not add a RadioRA 2 repeater to a Caseta system.

    If your device isn't recognized, make sure you have the correct device selected in the app. If you have a dimmer selected and try to add a switch, the app won't recognize it.

    The link below shows resetting of a RA2 device. He taps 5 times but it doesn't matter as once it sees the 3 within the specified time, it does the action.

    I'd also look at putting in a plug-in dimmer as an additional repeater. My first choice would be the plug-in dimmer in the main house and the repeater in the garage.
    Convergence Technologies Raleigh, North Carolina
    www.convergenceusa.com

Similar Threads

  1. Some devices outdoors need a repeater
    By dougcoleman in forum Design Assistance - RA2
    Replies: 11
    Last Post: 03-10-2021, 04:06 AM
  2. Main Repeater and connect bridge 5 devices?
    By Lukeetal in forum Programming - RA2
    Replies: 2
    Last Post: 06-13-2016, 04:15 PM
  3. See Devices Activated by Repeater? & Pico Resetting
    By schalliol in forum Troubleshooting - RA2
    Replies: 2
    Last Post: 05-09-2016, 11:18 PM
  4. Problems with the transfer from repeater main to devices
    By RUBEN in forum Troubleshooting - RA2
    Replies: 2
    Last Post: 05-22-2015, 12:03 PM
  5. Re-setting question-main repeater and all devices
    By SERVICEELE1 in forum General Discussion - RA2
    Replies: 2
    Last Post: 11-14-2014, 09:32 AM

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •