Thanks Thanks:  0
Likes Likes:  0
Results 1 to 3 of 3

Thread: Two buildings, two routers, one modem

  1. #1
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Jun 2021
    Posts
    2

    Unhappy Two buildings, two routers, one modem

    Hi, I have built a guest house and connected it to my existing internet service by an underground Ethernet cable. It’s too far to share my netgear Orbi wifi, so I’ve added a TPlink deco mesh system there, and a second smart bridge but am not having any luck so far getting anything to connect in the guest house. Is this even a possibility or does the shared network (meaning two smart bridges connected by Ethernet) make it un-doable? Thanks for any advice.

  2. #2
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    May 2021
    Posts
    14
    See Multiple Smart-Bridge Pro's in a single home

    That thread is old (2016), but I haven't seen anything to suggest Lutron has improved anything wrt controlling multiple Casèta Smart Bridges at the same time.

    It appears that other apps, such as Apple's HomeKit, can address this, but I cannot say for certain.

    I like Casèta and its Smart Bridge, but it's really a fairly limited home automation solution in many ways. For larger or more sophisticated installations it seems one must go with either a different Lutron solution (Radio RA2?) or another solution entirely (Z-Wave, Insteon, etc.)

    Now, if Lutron would allow one to add a Smart Bridge as a slave controller to an existing Smart Bridge as a master controller, Casèta's utility would be greatly enhanced. I wouldn't hold my breath ;)

  3. #3
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Jun 2021
    Posts
    2

    Your response.

    Thanks very much. I just moved the bridge to the other building and could control everything in both buildings perfectly. Then I came back to my house, and Homekit lost all contact with all the accessories, but the Lutron app was able to control about 80% of them. Arrgh.

Similar Threads

  1. Reconnecting Connect Bridge After Modem Change
    By liteman78 in forum General Discussion - RA2
    Replies: 3
    Last Post: 11-02-2018, 12:41 PM
  2. Cisco RV series routers
    By randyc in forum Troubleshooting - CAS
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: 09-07-2017, 09:52 AM
  3. Replies: 2
    Last Post: 01-07-2016, 09:32 AM
  4. Routers that work with Caseta
    By salsabia in forum General Discussion - CAS
    Replies: 4
    Last Post: 10-11-2015, 05:03 PM

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •