Results 1 to 9 of 9

Thread: Do the Pico Switches sold and shipped by Amazon work with RA2?

  1. #1

    Do the Pico Switches sold and shipped by Amazon work with RA2?

    http://www.amazon.com/gp/product/B00...r_1_11&sr=8-11

    Do these Pico Switches sold and shipped by Amazon work with RA2? I remembered that the Pico switches were among the only devices from Lutron that aren't specific to Caseta, RA2, etc,. and could be used across all? Thanks!

  2. #2
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Dec 2014
    Posts
    252
    Yes, these PJ2 Picos will work just fine. Yes, they aren't system specific (even though what can you do with these Picos differs depending on a system).

  3. Thanks geofry thanked for this post
  4. #3
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Sep 2013
    Posts
    420
    veeeh is right, but just avoid MRF2 and other non-RR2 Picos. Generally these guys aren't around, but you might see some used that are the old design.

  5. Thanks geofry thanked for this post
  6. #4
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Oct 2013
    Posts
    402
    I've used that one. This kit does as well:
    https://www.amazon.com/gp/product/B00JR202JQ/

    As do these sensors:
    https://www.amazon.com/gp/product/B005LPET0G
    https://www.amazon.com/gp/product/B003YVPJJO

    Note, when programming a Pico, you can separate what devices are controlled by the buttons. It doesn't have to control everything together. I've got a 3BRL programmed to turn on a dimmer, raise/turn-on/lower a 2ANF fan and turn off both of those and a number of other lights.

  7. #5
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Sep 2013
    Posts
    420
    I highly recommend the engraved 4 button Picos, FWIW.

  8. #6
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Oct 2013
    Posts
    402
    Quote Originally Posted by schalliol View Post
    I highly recommend the engraved 4 button Picos, FWIW.
    Yeah, provided you already know how they need to be engraved, or can go with sufficiently generic labeling. It's often worth using a blank one 'for a while' to get used to a given configuration. There's no after-the-fact engraving for the Picos. You have to get them engraved ahead of time.

  9. Likes SDR-Mike liked this post
  10. #7
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Jun 2013
    Posts
    665
    Quote Originally Posted by wkearney99 View Post
    Yeah, provided you already know how they need to be engraved, or can go with sufficiently generic labeling. It's often worth using a blank one 'for a while' to get used to a given configuration. There's no after-the-fact engraving for the Picos. You have to get them engraved ahead of time.
    I agree with wkearney99. $40 list on the 4 button standard Pico as a place filler, order the $100 engraved Pico when you send out for the rest of the engravings. Easy swap in the software and you are done with a very professional look.
    Residential Lighting and Shading Specialist for CED Escondido

    mbalay@cedescondido.com

  11. #8
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Oct 2013
    Posts
    402
    Quote Originally Posted by SanDiegoRep View Post
    Easy swap in the software and you are done with a very professional look.
    Is it though? Maybe I've missed something but I didn't see a way to copy all of a given Pico's programming to another. Button-by-button, yes, that you can do. But a whole Pico config? Or, have I missed something obvious?

  12. #9
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Jun 2013
    Posts
    665
    deactivate the Pico in the software, then re-activate with the new engraved version.
    Residential Lighting and Shading Specialist for CED Escondido

    mbalay@cedescondido.com

Similar Threads

  1. Amazon Echo Integration
    By msterling in forum 3rd-party Integration - CAS
    Replies: 35
    Last Post: 07-20-2017, 05:40 PM
  2. amazon echo support?
    By wkearney99 in forum 3rd-party Integration - RA2
    Replies: 87
    Last Post: 04-03-2017, 03:21 PM
  3. Shimming switches
    By asherrick in forum Troubleshooting - CAS
    Replies: 4
    Last Post: 09-01-2015, 08:12 PM
  4. 5 buttons pico and pico engraving ?
    By mehuneau in forum General Discussion - HWQS
    Replies: 3
    Last Post: 05-12-2015, 04:31 PM

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •