Thanks Thanks:  0
Likes Likes:  0

Thread: Some kits require a neutral wire, others don't?

Some kits require a neutral wire, others don't?

Hi everyone. I'm a newbie here I don't own any of this equipment yet – I'm doing my research.In my initial reading and research about the system one of the benefits touted was that no neutral wire is required. However when I go to this page on the Lutron website...https://www.casetawireless.com/products/smart-kits Several of the kits listed on the page above are clearly marked as "Neutral required".* This confuses me. Why do some kits say that and others don't? To add to my confusion when I click on the "where to buy" link, the resulting page on Amazon says "no neutral required."What's the deal? I have neutral wires in my house. But still, I'm unsure which one to buy. Is there some advantage to using a neutral wire if you have one? Or is the information on the website wrong and none of them require a neutral wire?Thank you in advance for helping clear this up for me!BenReston, VA

Switches in older homes commonly do not have a neutral in the box - requiring neutrals was a relatively recent code change.

If you have a neutral available, always use it - long story short, it greatly increases the chances that everything will work as you intend. Caseta has options for both no-neutral and neutral-available switches. Again, if you have a neutral available, I highly encourage using a neutral-required switch.

Searching on Amazon I’m having a great deal of the of difficulty finding starter kits and light switches that require a neutral wire. In fact I can only find one dimmer switch that requires a neutral wire and it’s $120. That’s way too expensive considering how many lights which is I’m interested in. Should I be looking somewhere other than Amazon?