Thanks Thanks:  0
Likes Likes:  1
Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 17

Thread: Home Assistant Lutron Integration

  1. #1
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Mar 2021
    Posts
    1

    Home Assistant Lutron Integration

    Anyone using Home Assistant/Lutron RadioRa2(Not select)? Devices are going into HA as a switch or Light...no consistency.

  2. #2
    I am. What's going on?

  3. #3
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Jun 2020
    Posts
    1
    You can ask questions by filing a Github issue here: https://github.com/thecynic/pylutron/issues

    The general logic is:
    - Dimmable loads are added as lights
    - Non dimmable loads are added as a switch

    And yes, it's possible you have lights on a switch, but there's insufficient information in the Lutron config to know that.

  4. #4
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Oct 2013
    Posts
    518
    Quote Originally Posted by horshack View Post
    You can ask questions by filing a Github issue here: https://github.com/thecynic/pylutron/issues

    The general logic is:
    - Dimmable loads are added as lights
    - Non dimmable loads are added as a switch

    And yes, it's possible you have lights on a switch, but there's insufficient information in the Lutron config to know that.
    Technically, the DbXmlInfo.xml file from the repeater CAN tell you what's on an OutputType, but the pylutron library that HA uses doesn't differentiate. If it's NON_DIM then HA imports it as a Switch. But if it's a NON_DIM_INC, NON_DIM_ELV, etc, then HA imports them as a Light.

    You control the OutputType that gets set for each device using the Ra2 software and the details on the load assigned to it (switched using LED, Fluorescent, MLV, ELV). The trouble is if you have a device that should not be dimmed then you really don't want to allow it to be dimmed. Sure, it's a "light" in the human sense of things, but in HA they seem to think a "light" has to be something that is dimmable.

    It's kind of annoying in HA that things that are just on/off aren't easily configured as a "light" within HA. I'm only marginally familiar with HA so I don't know why this is so, or how to 'get around it'.

  5. #5
    I have used it but I found it had issues from time to time. Usually during upgrades. I now use a Hubitat and it is rock solid; though you must have a Hub Pro for Caseta.

  6. #6
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Oct 2013
    Posts
    518
    Did they ever add any decent importing/updating for Ra2 into Hubitat? Does it support timeclock events?

  7. #7
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Apr 2019
    Posts
    7
    Quote Originally Posted by wkearney99 View Post
    Did they ever add any decent importing/updating for Ra2 into Hubitat? Does it support timeclock events?
    Lutron devices still have to be added to Hubitat manually by ID under the Lutron Integration tab. The main repeater integration ID should be setup as a "k" keypad

    Timeclocks are able to be called from Hubitat Rules (Rule Machine) using sendMsg.

    The main repeater integration ID with the timeclock events should be setup as a "k" keypad
    Then Create new action -> Set Variable, Mode or File, Run Custom Action -> Run Custom Action -> Actuator -> Lutron Telnet - sendMsg -> string and then the string value calls the timeclock....

    #TIMECLOCK,<ID>,<SET=1>,<MODE>


    Here's what the action should look like: sendMsg('#TIMECLOCK,11,1,3') on Lutron Telnet

    That all said, if you're all in with Hubitat then it's best to ditch Lutron's timeclock all together as Hubitat does scheduling/rules much more robustly.

  8. Likes BillD liked this post
  9. #8
    One of the best parts of Hubitat is that RadioRA 2 questions actually get answered on the forum. Questions on Home Assistant forum don't. Hubitat's built in lighting automation apps have really increased in capability and usability too.

  10. #9
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Jul 2022
    Posts
    9

    Home-Assistant switch to light conversion.

    I had a similar issue with lutron non-dimmable switches. Go to Helpers under Devices and Services, and there is a wizard ("Change device type of switch") that will convert your switches to lights so they will be consistent with your other lutron dimmable switches.

  11. #10
    This Forum needs more activity. Hubitat is an excellent Forum for help with Lutron.

Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Similar Threads

  1. Lutron Fan PD-FSQN-WH Speed Control Google Assistant
    By gatorshak in forum 3rd-party Integration - RA2
    Replies: 2
    Last Post: 03-10-2020, 09:03 PM
  2. Replies: 2
    Last Post: 09-25-2019, 02:31 AM
  3. Lutron Scenes work with Siri, but not Google Assistant
    By TheReef510 in forum Troubleshooting - CAS
    Replies: 2
    Last Post: 08-13-2019, 10:11 AM
  4. Google Home & Google Assistant Integration with Fan Switches
    By Tazplex in forum 3rd-party Integration - RA2
    Replies: 3
    Last Post: 12-03-2018, 12:20 PM
  5. Apple Home Kit - Potential Answer to Home Automation Integration
    By schalliol in forum 3rd-party Integration - RA2
    Replies: 46
    Last Post: 11-15-2015, 02:02 AM

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •