Thanks Thanks:  0
Likes Likes:  0
Dislikes Dislikes:  0
Results 1 to 6 of 6

Thread: MS-OPS2H manual bypass switch?

  1. #1
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Jan 2021
    Posts
    3

    MS-OPS2H manual bypass switch?

    I am thinking of installing an MS-OPS2H switch to control a 48" LED strip in my garage. The light is most often used momentarily when passing through the garage in the dark, but it is mounted over a work bench, so sometimes the light is used for task illumination for a longer period of time. I have searched the OEM documentation, but have not been able to determine for sure if the OPS2H has a manual override or not. It appears that it does not, but please correct me if I'm wrong. (I don't have one in-hand to figure out for myself.)

    Would there be any problem with installing a conventional manual switch in the the hot (black) wire in parallel with the OPS2H? I'm thinking this would bypass the OPS2H to allow full manual control for times that I want the light to stay on continuously, then opening the switch would revert back to auto-control.

    I'm not sure if a simple single-pole switch in parallel would work, or if a more sophisticated switch would be needed to disconnect the hot wire from the OPS2H while the manual switch is closed - or if there is some reason that such a bypass would not work at all.

    Thanks.

  2. #2
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Jan 2021
    Posts
    4
    Looking at the multiple views on the Home Depot website, It shows to have a manual override switch. Theoretically, you should be able to get away with back feeding the device as long as you are using the same circuit.

  3. #3
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Jan 2021
    Posts
    3
    Yes, back feeding is a good way to describe it, which is what is happening when the parallel manual switch is closed. I didn't know if the OPS2H would like that or not.

    And there is a manual switch on the device, but my understanding is when pressed, the light only stays on for the timed interval, which I would normally only set for a minute or so, for entry in the dark. Hence the need to switch it manually when needed.

  4. #4
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Jan 2021
    Posts
    4
    Only one way to find out?

  5. #5
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Jan 2021
    Posts
    3
    Quote Originally Posted by PhoenixFord View Post
    Only one way to find out?
    I suppose so...

  6. #6
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Jan 2021
    Posts
    4
    Possible that the device will not like the back feed. But I really don't think that there will be any damage to the device. And should recover as soon as the back feed is removed.

Similar Threads

  1. MS-OPS2H Wiring
    By schmad1027 in forum Troubleshooting - Controls
    Replies: 4
    Last Post: 12-21-2020, 10:04 AM
  2. LRF2 Vacancy sensor & manual switch usage
    By MisterC in forum General Discussion - RA2
    Replies: 7
    Last Post: 04-07-2017, 08:38 PM
  3. Caseta Dimmer 3-way configuration with manual toggle switch?
    By Spunky424 in forum Troubleshooting - CAS
    Replies: 2
    Last Post: 01-19-2017, 09:29 AM
  4. Manual Switch Raise/Lower
    By donkeyface in forum Programming - HWQS
    Replies: 3
    Last Post: 10-19-2015, 08:33 AM
  5. Replies: 3
    Last Post: 01-13-2014, 08:08 AM

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •