Thanks Thanks:  0
Likes Likes:  0
Results 1 to 3 of 3

Thread: Install Caseta in 2 gang box - ground wire question

  1. #1
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Dec 2020
    Posts
    1

    Lightbulb Install Caseta in 2 gang box - ground wire question

    Hi all,Just got some new Caseta switches and ran into an issue installing them in a 2 gang box each controlling a single pole. The switches are currently wired with 3 black wires, with one pushed in the back on the bottom and the other in the bottom screw. It seems that the extra black wire connects the two switches. The ground wire is also a single one, which is wrapped around one switch's ground screw and continues on to terminate at the ground screw of the other switch. I am trying to install 2 Caseta switches (not dimmers). I've read on other posts that it is OK to connect the bottom two black wires, which are presumably the hot, to the black wire of the caseta switch. I also would then connect the neutrals to the bundle of neutrals that are capped off in the same box. But the main question is, is it also OK to connect the green wires from the 2 Casetas with the ground wire with one wire nut?Thanks for your help!

  2. #2
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Dec 2020
    Posts
    4
    Yes, that will work.....as long as the existing ground wire in the box is wrapped around the ground screw in the box.

  3. #3
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Dec 2020
    Posts
    4
    Yes, that will work.....as long as the existing ground wire in the box is wrapped around the ground screw in the box.

Similar Threads

  1. No ground wire in my light box
    By bramhubbell in forum Troubleshooting - CAS
    Replies: 3
    Last Post: 02-07-2021, 06:43 PM
  2. Another single pole with four wires plus ground question
    By jr591 in forum Troubleshooting - CAS
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: 12-12-2020, 07:08 PM
  3. What to do with ground wire on new switch?
    By eiwalch in forum Troubleshooting - Controls
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: 11-18-2020, 01:20 PM
  4. Loose ground wire on switch
    By Scott B in forum General Discussion - CAS
    Replies: 3
    Last Post: 09-05-2018, 07:27 PM
  5. two wire switch no ground no neutral wires UMS-OPS6M-DV-WH
    By dfphoto in forum General Discussion - Controls
    Replies: 0
    Last Post: 11-21-2014, 03:10 PM

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •