Thanks Thanks:  0
Likes Likes:  0
Results 1 to 2 of 2

Thread: No ground wire in my light box

  1. #1
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Nov 2020
    Posts
    1

    No ground wire in my light box

    I live in 100+ year old building in New York City. I’m installing a Caseta Smart Dimmer Switch, but there is no ground wire in the box. Everything is metal. My local hardware shop, with some really smart guys, said I should attach the ground on the dimmer switch to the bolt in the back of my light box. A friend said Ali could simply cap the ground wire and not worry about it. Is there any consensus about the best option? Thanks in advance.

  2. #2
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Oct 2013
    Posts
    1,953
    Quote Originally Posted by bramhubbell View Post
    I live in 100+ year old building in New York City. I’m installing a Caseta Smart Dimmer Switch, but there is no ground wire in the box. Everything is metal. My local hardware shop, with some really smart guys, said I should attach the ground on the dimmer switch to the bolt in the back of my light box. A friend said Ali could simply cap the ground wire and not worry about it. Is there any consensus about the best option? Thanks in advance.
    Attaching the ground wire to an ungrounded box doesn't accomplish anything. You need to determine if the metal box is grounded. The most common way to ground the box is a ground wire in the cables. It would be attached to a ground screw (don't use the mounting screw) in the box. It sounds like you don't have this option.

    Another method for grounding would be a conduit that runs all the way back to the a bonded distribution panel. The conduit can go to other boxes as long as you have a continuous path to the panel.

    If there is no option for a ground screw (don't use the mounting screw or drill holes in the box) the metal mounting plate on the dimmer will act as the ground.

    In any case, because the mounting plate for the dimmer is metal, you need to use a screwless plate or plastic mounting screws for a traditional plate.
    LED, Incorporated
    Raleigh, NC 27614

Similar Threads

  1. What to do with ground wire on new switch?
    By eiwalch in forum Troubleshooting - Controls
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: 11-18-2020, 01:20 PM
  2. Two Wire without neutral controlling LED pool light 50 Watts
    By markconfer in forum General Discussion - CAS
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: 07-16-2020, 10:44 AM
  3. Loose ground wire on switch
    By Scott B in forum General Discussion - CAS
    Replies: 3
    Last Post: 09-05-2018, 07:27 PM
  4. 3-Wire LED Light Fixture
    By MiguelM in forum Design Assistance - HWQS
    Replies: 3
    Last Post: 08-28-2017, 04:48 PM
  5. two wire switch no ground no neutral wires UMS-OPS6M-DV-WH
    By dfphoto in forum General Discussion - Controls
    Replies: 0
    Last Post: 11-21-2014, 03:10 PM

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •