Thanks Thanks:  0
Likes Likes:  0
Results 1 to 5 of 5

Thread: Very newbie question - minimal set of components

  1. #1
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Oct 2020
    Posts
    1

    Very newbie question - minimal set of components

    Hi.I bought a house where the previous owner (an electrician) installed a RadioRA2 system. There is a grafik Eye QS panel controlling all the lights in the kitchen/dining/living room area, and then a number of switches and dimmers around the house. I also have a TableTop keypad. Should there be a "main repeater" somewhere in the house that controls all these "pieces" together?Have a nice dayGV

  2. #2
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Dec 2019
    Posts
    2
    Somewhere there is a main repeater and, depending on the layout of your home, there are possibly one or more auxiliary repeaters. In my home the main repeater is hidden in the entry coat closet and there is a aux repeater in the master bedroom closet and one in a upper kitchen cabinet.

  3. #3
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Oct 2013
    Posts
    1,953
    Once it is programmed it is possible for the system to work without the main repeater. All the devices would have to be fairly close. If the original main repeater is gone, you will have to set the devices to factory default and start programming from scratch.

    For programming and app control, the main repeater uses Ethernet. I typically put it near the router.

    You may also have a Connect Bridge. A small box about 3" square and 1" thick. It allows remote access and voice control. If you have a white one, contact tech support. The upgrade program may still be in place. It requires Ethernet access so it is typically near the router. It is an optional feature so you may not have one.
    LED, Incorporated
    Raleigh, NC 27614

  4. #4
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Dec 2013
    Posts
    317
    Look through the house in the equipment room, garage, pantry, attic, etc. I really hope there is one and the previous owner didn't cheat you by taking it away. Once programmed, the keypads can still send out a signal that the dimmers hear so the system can appear to work but it's probably not very reliable and you certainly can't change any programming or add new devices or use the app. It also means that you would have to do a complete reprogramming with a new main repeater.

    Now days that these are selling points to the house and integrated with AV and other things, it's rare for an owner or electrician to take them away but I remember with the original (classic) Radio Ra when the repeaters were like $700 each, a lot of shady installers would install the system and if it looked like it was working, take the main repeater with them for another job. Then when I would come along to troubleshoot the **** thing, I couldn't find the main repeater and couldn't do anything.

  5. #5
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Jan 2019
    Posts
    198
    I will add that if the Main is missing, devices respond in a slow, haphazard way most of the time. If you press a button on a keypad, everything should be very quick and reliable. RA2 shouldn't feel clunky or slow. The previous owner probably threw it in with the WiFi router not really knowing what it is. If you can contact them they might give it back, it is likely of no use to them.
    Evan Kirkhart- Home Electronics Solutions
    evan@homeelectronics.solutions

Similar Threads

  1. Question on RPM panel system components
    By SparkyCoog in forum Design Assistance - HWQS
    Replies: 2
    Last Post: 11-20-2018, 10:24 AM
  2. Newbie Compatibility question Homekit/Echo/Lutron App
    By Automate in forum General Discussion - CAS
    Replies: 14
    Last Post: 12-26-2017, 07:23 PM
  3. NEWBIE - Wiring Question
    By LADodgerJeff in forum Troubleshooting - CAS
    Replies: 8
    Last Post: 04-21-2017, 07:59 PM
  4. Newbie Question -Remote dimmer uses ?
    By Cmachleit78 in forum General Discussion - RA2
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: 11-03-2015, 09:34 AM
  5. Seeking 3-way design assistance - newbie question
    By BlackKnight in forum Design Assistance - CAS
    Replies: 3
    Last Post: 10-05-2015, 09:13 AM

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •