Thanks Thanks:  0
Likes Likes:  0
Results 1 to 8 of 8

Thread: Vacancy sensors behaving like occupancy sensors

  1. #1
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Oct 2020
    Posts
    13

    Vacancy sensors behaving like occupancy sensors

    I have rooms set up with PowPak's, Pico dimmer switches, Vacancy sensors and DayLight sensors. Why do the lights come on before the PICO switch is touched?

  2. #2
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    May 2015
    Posts
    231
    I think you are posting in the wrong forum.

  3. #3
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Oct 2020
    Posts
    13
    I'm having trouble figuring out which is the correct forum. My system has radio control PICO switches, radio POWR savr occ/ vac sensors, Daylight savers and a vive hub for two zones. All control 0-10v led's. Which is the correct forum to post questions?

  4. #4
    Super Moderator
    Join Date
    Sep 2020
    Posts
    17
    It sounds like you have Powpaks which are commercial devices, you are currently in the Caseta Wireless section of the forum. In the future please post underneath the General Commercial (https://forums.lutron.com/forumdispl...ral-Commercial) when discussing the Powpaks and its components. At the moment it sounds like your sensor is detecting your motion as you enter the room forcing the lights to 100% before you can touch the Pico remote.

  5. #5
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Oct 2013
    Posts
    1,963
    There are 2 type of RPS sensors - occupancy/vacancy and vacancy only. If you have occupancy/vacancy and want vacancy only you will have to go into the setup and change it.
    LED, Incorporated
    Raleigh, NC 27614

  6. #6
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Oct 2020
    Posts
    13
    No. I have vacancy sensors only in these locations. Scenario one... only a vacancy sensor and a pow pak linked to a VIVE hub. The vacancy sensor turns the lights on just like an occupancy sensor would. Scenario two ... a PICO dimming switch, a pow pak, a vacancy sensor and a daylight sensor. The lights come on when I walk in the room. They are supposed to come on when I hit the switch. I have a vacancy sensor, not an occupancy sensor.

  7. #7
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Oct 2013
    Posts
    1,963
    Check the labels on the sensors you have. Either someone sold you the wrong thing or they got mislabeled. The action you are describing is what an O/V sensor would do.
    LED, Incorporated
    Raleigh, NC 27614

  8. #8
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Oct 2020
    Posts
    13
    That's the weird thing. It is a vacancy sensor only. But it behaves like an occupancy sensor. In scenario 1, there is no switch, so I don't know what the architect had in mind to turn the lights on. But the Vac switch does turn them on. ???? And in scenario two, I have four offices where the vacancy sensor turns the lights on. There are PICO switches that work as well, but it's supposed to be manual on and vacancy sensor off. All of these offices work just like occupancy sensor have been installed. Scratching my head.

Similar Threads

  1. Maestro MS-OPS2 Occupancy/Vacancy Sensors
    By mdezrin in forum General Discussion - Controls
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: 09-22-2017, 08:44 AM
  2. multiple vacancy sensors in one room
    By bmhd613 in forum General Discussion - RA2
    Replies: 4
    Last Post: 07-13-2016, 03:35 PM
  3. Occupancy/vacancy sensors
    By Ekkoville in forum General Discussion - CAS
    Replies: 5
    Last Post: 04-14-2016, 02:46 PM
  4. Replies: 4
    Last Post: 11-05-2015, 11:43 PM
  5. Replies: 4
    Last Post: 09-03-2015, 01:48 AM

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •