Thanks Thanks:  0
Likes Likes:  0
Dislikes Dislikes:  0
Results 1 to 2 of 2

Thread: macl-153m without ground

  1. #1
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Aug 2020
    Posts
    1

    macl-153m without ground

    I just bought a macl-153m to replace a very old lumitron rotary dimmer that died. After removing the old dimmer, I checked the wiring in the wall box and found the bare ground wire, coming out of the romex, is not connected to ground. My question is, since the old dimmer worked for about twenty years, can I connect the macl-153m without connecting the ground wire?Thanks,henrylr

  2. #2
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Jan 2019
    Posts
    183
    If you don't have a ground, the code states that you must use a nonmetallic wallplate without metallic screws. That requirement would be satisfied by a Claro screwless wallplate. The Maestro will operate correctly without a ground.

    - - - Updated - - -

    If there is a ground wire that isn't grounded you should really find out why.
    Evan Kirkhart- Home Electronics Solutions
    evan@homeelectronics.solutions

Similar Threads

  1. 4 way using macl-153m
    By k9jws in forum General Discussion - Controls
    Replies: 3
    Last Post: 06-29-2020, 04:10 PM
  2. Lurton MACL-153M
    By rdthomas23 in forum Troubleshooting - Controls
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: 06-14-2020, 10:03 PM
  3. MACL-153M Issue
    By dji320 in forum Performance Issues - LED
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: 03-13-2019, 12:23 PM
  4. MACL-153M
    By Chris M in forum Troubleshooting - Controls
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: 07-11-2018, 09:03 PM
  5. Troubles with MACL-153M / MA-L
    By GoTTi in forum Troubleshooting - Controls
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: 02-04-2017, 12:25 AM

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •