Thanks Thanks:  0
Likes Likes:  0
Results 1 to 7 of 7

Thread: Using Ethernet Device module

  1. #1

    Using Ethernet Device module

    Anyone used ethernet module in homework QS for Intersystem communication? I have two programs. I want to use a keypad in program1 to control few channels in the program2.Initial requirement was independent system. Now got a task to control few lights that are in building 1 from building 2. Both are in same network.

  2. #2
    Authorized Lutron Contributor
    Join Date
    Sep 2018
    Posts
    175
    Thank you for your post Kannan@pv.ae.

    We would recommend following this app note https://www.lutron.com/TechnicalDocu...ntegration.pdf. Specifically scenario 1 would be needed. With that in mind we would need to program both directions for the commands and feedback if needed. Hope this helps!

  3. #3
    Thank you for the suggestions and the app note.

  4. #4
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Mar 2018
    Posts
    10

    Need help integrating with a 3rd party Ethernet device - any way to debug ?

    I have a gate controlled by a Global Cache TVP/IP Ethernet to contact closure switch. I can telnet to the Global Cache device and issue a command to open or close the contact closure switch (e.g. "setstate,1:1,1"). I have not been able to successfully trigger the command from HomeWorks QS. I have configured an Ethernet device with the IP address, and telnet port number. I have a command set with the appropriate command configured. But it's not working somewhere. Is there any way to debug the integration? Can I see if the Global Cache device is returning an error message?Is there any way to tell how this might be failing?When I issue the command using telnet, the Global Cache device returns an acknowledgment message. How do I see that return message from the HomeWorks QS system?Thanks in advance for your help.

  5. #5
    Authorized Lutron Contributor
    Join Date
    Jun 2013
    Posts
    20
    I believe you should be able to telnet into the processor using a command prompt and see if the 3rd party system is sending responses back. Go to start> type CMD, which will open up a command prompt (make sure telnet is enabled on your machine). Next type telnet 192.xxx.xxx.xxx or whatever the IP address is of your processor, it will ask you for a UN and PW which is configured in the integration tab in the software. I hope this helps.

  6. #6
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Mar 2018
    Posts
    10
    Thanks, but what do I look for to see if the third party system is sending back a response code? I know how to telnet in and use the command line. I've built integrations that use the telnet interface to control the Homeworks QS system. But what do I look for that tells me the return value from a third party integration?

  7. #7
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Mar 2018
    Posts
    10
    I think I found what I need. This post:https://forums.lutron.com/showthread...-HWQSdescribes how to troubleshoot third party integrations. There's a HWQS command "outboundconnections" that displays the state of third party Ethernet connections as well as the transmitted and received data. I'm now using that to debug the integration.

Similar Threads

  1. SageGlass Ethernet Integration - Feedback
    By martopg in forum 3rd-party Integration - HWQS
    Replies: 2
    Last Post: 04-02-2019, 03:26 PM
  2. Serial over ethernet for RS485 link to Aux repeater?
    By EstateNets in forum Design Assistance - RA2
    Replies: 4
    Last Post: 05-21-2017, 01:56 PM
  3. How many device addresses used for Wallbox Power Module
    By SB Smarthomes in forum General Discussion - RA2
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: 06-14-2014, 06:30 PM
  4. Any Ethernet Surge Protection Ideas?
    By jkvossen in forum General Discussion - Legacy HW
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: 01-22-2014, 01:03 PM
  5. MAIN-REP ethernet port
    By hinkelmann in forum General Discussion - RA2
    Replies: 2
    Last Post: 10-31-2013, 01:45 AM

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •