Thanks Thanks:  0
Likes Likes:  0
Page 2 of 2 FirstFirst 12
Results 11 to 19 of 19

Thread: Can one Pico control two dimmers separately?

  1. #11
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Feb 2016
    Posts
    2
    Quote Originally Posted by RK1111 View Post
    I have not seen an answer to the initial question --- Can one (3 or 4 button) Pico remote control more than one switch?
    Sorry. Left off the word -- independently.
    I don't want to use one remote to control multiple switches simultaneously.

  2. #12
    Authorized Lutron Contributor
    Join Date
    May 2013
    Posts
    565
    Yes, one PJ2-4B-GWH-L21 Pico remote can control 2 different dimmers/switches separately, but you will ONLY get on/off functionality from the remote. You won't be able to dim from the remote.

  3. #13
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Sep 2019
    Posts
    9

    Use of Lutron bridge to control 2 dimmers with one Pico

    asherrick's post implies that one Pico can control two dimmers with the use of a bridge. I have a Lutron Bridge Pro that I use with my Hubitat home automation hub. How can I use the bridge to control two dimmers with one Pico? Like this? (Pico ---> bridge ---> home automation hub ---> bridge ---> dimmer1 and dimmer 2)

  4. #14
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Oct 2013
    Posts
    1,785
    skybluecat Navigate to the Pico in the Lutron app. Click on "edit device." You can add any number of devices to the Pico. The Pico is a fairly dumb device. It sends on/off/raise/lower commands to the bridge. The information on what to do is stored in the bridge.

    If you press a button on the Pico, it will go Pico --> bridge --> dimmer1, dimmer 2. It will not go through the Hubitat.

    If you initiate the command from Hubitat it would go hub --> bridge --> dimmer1, dimmer2. Although Hubitat be sending the command to press the Pico button, the bridge will actually forward the command to the dimmers.
    LED, Incorporated
    Raleigh, NC 27614

  5. #15
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Sep 2019
    Posts
    9
    How would I control 2 Caseta dimmers with one Pico on a bridged system? Do I need a separate home automation controller, or can I do it with just the Lutron Caseta components (Dimmer, Pico, Bridge)?

  6. #16
    All Caséta dimmers and Picos need a bridge except for Wink HA systems. All other HA systems other than SmartThings require the Smart Bridge Pro that has Telnet integration. In Hubitat the Smart Bridge Pro, the dimmers, and Picos are all added as devices. Hubitat reads and sends Telnet commands from/to the Smart Bridge Pro.

    You have 2 choices for control of the Caséta dimmers:
    1) Directly via Lutron, no HA hub involved. Both dimmers can be added to a single Pico in the Lutron phone app, or
    2) via HA hub. Via Telnet the Hubitat will hear the Pico and send lighting state and level commands to the Smart Bridge Pro. The SBP will tell the dimmers what to do.

    Both methods work and there are use cases for both.

  7. #17
    Authorized Lutron Contributor
    Join Date
    Apr 2013
    Posts
    403
    On a non-bridge system, you can have up to 10 Pico remotes control 1 dimmer. The only way to control 2 different dimmers independently from one Pico would be to use the 2-group 4-button Pico. Specifically, the PJ2-4B-GWH-L21. See page 6 of: http://www.lutron.com/TechnicalDocum.../369847.pdf.If you are using the Lutron Caseta system then you can program the pico to control any number of dimmers that are also on the Lutron Caseta system.

  8. #18
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Jun 2020
    Posts
    1
    Quote Originally Posted by BillD View Post
    All Caséta dimmers and Picos need a bridge except for Wink HA systems.
    This is obviously wrong. Caseta dimmers and switches work with pico just fine without a bridge. The bridge is only necessary to extend the range, or to add automated schedules, and remote app functionality.
    Quote Originally Posted by Craig W. View Post
    The only way to control 2 different dimmers independently from one Pico would be to use the 2-group 4-button Pico.
    No, any pico wireless control can control more than 1 caseta dimmer. The documentation doesn't say how many. I just now, as I'm writing, tested it with 2 dimmers and it works. (no bridge)
    http://www.lutron.com/TechnicalDocum...ary/040429.pdf
    Set-Up
    4. Repeat steps 1-3 to pair a single Pico wireless control with multiple dimmers / switches.

  9. #19
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Oct 2013
    Posts
    1,785
    For the 2nd option, he wanted to control dimmer A without affecting dimmer B and vice-versa, all from a single Pico. The only Pico that will do that is the 2 group/4 button. I don't believe Caseta has the ability to turn off group programming like RA2 and HQS. At that point you are manually recreating the 2 group/4 button programming.
    LED, Incorporated
    Raleigh, NC 27614

Page 2 of 2 FirstFirst 12

Similar Threads

  1. RRD-2ANF and Pico Control
    By para19 in forum General Discussion - RA2
    Replies: 3
    Last Post: 10-24-2014, 12:20 AM
  2. Pico no longer controls my Caseta Dimmers
    By Kevin P. in forum Troubleshooting - CAS
    Replies: 2
    Last Post: 08-08-2014, 01:45 PM
  3. Using Pico Switch Keypad with Home Control+
    By geofry in forum General Discussion - RA2
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: 06-02-2014, 11:14 AM
  4. VCRX CCO and Pico Control - Ra2 7.5.0
    By Armando B. in forum General Discussion - RA2
    Replies: 0
    Last Post: 04-18-2014, 10:19 AM
  5. Pico & RA2 control of the same shade
    By SB Smarthomes in forum General Discussion - Shades
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: 03-24-2014, 09:41 AM

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •