Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 12

Thread: Can one Pico control two dimmers separately?

  1. #1
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Sep 2015
    Posts
    3

    Can one Pico control two dimmers separately?

    I know you can control two Caseta dimmers with one Pico - the lights all dim, etc, together, but how about having two dimmers controlled independently of each other? If not, then are there 3rd party remotes that will control independent dimmers?

    My setup will be direct - no remote bridge.

    Thanks,

    Bob

  2. #2
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Mar 2015
    Posts
    147
    Quote Originally Posted by bobc02 View Post
    ...but how about having two dimmers controlled independently of each other?
    You can pair a Pico to a single dimmer, if that's what you mean. However, in a standalone system without a bridge, a dimmer/switch can only be paired to one Pico. With a bridge you can pair multiple Picos to a switch/dimmer.

  3. #3
    Authorized Lutron Contributor
    Join Date
    May 2013
    Posts
    359
    On a non-bridge system, you can have up to 10 Pico remotes control 1 dimmer. The only way to control 2 different dimmers independently from one Pico would be to use the 2-group 4-button Pico. Specifically, the PJ2-4B-GWH-L21. See page 6 of: http://www.lutron.com/TechnicalDocum...ary/369847.pdf .

  4. #4
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Sep 2015
    Posts
    3
    Quote Originally Posted by Brian W. View Post
    On a non-bridge system, you can have up to 10 Pico remotes control 1 dimmer. The only way to control 2 different dimmers independently from one Pico would be to use the 2-group 4-button Pico. Specifically, the PJ2-4B-GWH-L21. See page 6 of: http://www.lutron.com/TechnicalDocum...ary/369847.pdf .
    Hi Brian,

    I read the doc but am not seeing how you'd program it to pair, independently, with two dimmers. Do you know the procedure?

    Thanks,

    Bob

  5. #5
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Sep 2015
    Posts
    3
    Quote Originally Posted by bobc02 View Post
    Hi Brian,

    I read the doc but am not seeing how you'd program it to pair, independently, with two dimmers. Do you know the procedure?

    Thanks,

    Bob
    I re-read page 6 and understand now. You'd probably pair each of the two groups to a specific dimmer.

    I actually have four circuits to control, so a two group controller will at least get me down to two controllers - better than four controllers.

    Thanks,

    Bob

  6. #6
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Oct 2015
    Posts
    2
    Quote Originally Posted by bobc02 View Post
    I re-read page 6 and understand now. You'd probably pair each of the two groups to a specific dimmer.

    I actually have four circuits to control, so a two group controller will at least get me down to two controllers - better than four controllers.

    Thanks,

    Bob
    Hi All,

    Was looking at something similar. This remote seems to allow you to control two separate groups, but doesn't seem like it allows you to adjust the dimmer from the remote, right? Looks like it is full on or full off?

  7. #7
    Authorized Lutron Contributor
    Join Date
    May 2013
    Posts
    359
    Quote Originally Posted by tsuinami View Post
    Hi All,

    Was looking at something similar. This remote seems to allow you to control two separate groups, but doesn't seem like it allows you to adjust the dimmer from the remote, right? Looks like it is full on or full off?
    You are correct. You would only get full on/full off from that remote. No dimming function.

  8. #8
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Oct 2015
    Posts
    2
    Quote Originally Posted by Brian W. View Post
    You are correct. You would only get full on/full off from that remote. No dimming function.
    Thanks for the info! Too bad, was hoping I could change the dimmer setting by holding on the button like the Insteon remote allows you to do. I just don't need to control 4 groups like that controller http://www.smarthome.com/insteon-234...e-4-scene.html

  9. #9
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Jan 2015
    Posts
    2
    You could also use a Four Button Scene Pico to control multiple dimmers "independantly". You could set up the three programmable scenes to activate one or more zones while leaving the other zones off. This would not allow for raise/lower control but would give you scenes 1, 2, & 3 and off. Hope that helps!

  10. #10
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Feb 2016
    Posts
    2
    I have not seen an answer to the initial question --- Can one (3 or 4 button) Pico remote control more than one switch?

Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Similar Threads

  1. RRD-2ANF and Pico Control
    By para19 in forum General Discussion - RA2
    Replies: 3
    Last Post: 10-24-2014, 12:20 AM
  2. Pico no longer controls my Caseta Dimmers
    By Kevin P. in forum Troubleshooting - CAS
    Replies: 2
    Last Post: 08-08-2014, 01:45 PM
  3. Using Pico Switch Keypad with Home Control+
    By geofry in forum General Discussion - RA2
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: 06-02-2014, 11:14 AM
  4. VCRX CCO and Pico Control - Ra2 7.5.0
    By Armando B. in forum General Discussion - RA2
    Replies: 0
    Last Post: 04-18-2014, 10:19 AM
  5. Pico & RA2 control of the same shade
    By SB Smarthomes in forum General Discussion - Shades
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: 03-24-2014, 09:41 AM

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •