Thanks Thanks:  0
Likes Likes:  0
Results 1 to 3 of 3

Thread: Alexa & Fan Control

  1. #1
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Jun 2020
    Posts
    2

    Alexa & Fan Control

    I have two bedrooms each with an RRD-6NA dimmer, an RRD-2ANF fan control and an Amazon Echo. A group was setup for each bedroom in the Alexa app and when I stand in one bedroom and say, "Alexa turn on the light" the correct light turns on. If I say, "Alexa, turn on the fan" suddenly Alexa doesn't know which fan I mean and wants me to add the name of bedroom. Have I configured this wrong? Is there a way for Alexa to treat the fan the way it does the lights? Thanks.

  2. #2
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Jun 2013
    Posts
    1,363
    Alexa and Google do not have the fan as an active device. Make scenes that have the different speeds for the fan, including off. I use Fan High (for high speed), Fan Medium (for Medium-High), Fan Low (for Medium), and Fan Stop (for off). I skipped the low speed, it was too low for most applications. Hope this helps.
    Simple automation when DIY isn't working
    intuitivehomecontrols@gmail.com
    fb.me/intuitivehomecontrols

  3. #3
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Jun 2020
    Posts
    2
    Thanks for the suggestion. I tried this, but it doesn't work the way I'd like. I can't create more than one scene with the same name. I can't have "Fan High" in one bedroom and "Fan High" in another bedroom also. If I need to create scenes with different names for each bedroom, then I might as well just stick with Alexa's default behavior of having to say the bedroom name to turn on the fan. Hopefully in the future this feature will be enabled in Alexa.

Similar Threads

  1. Alexa commands
    By J-Automation in forum 3rd-party Integration - RA2
    Replies: 2
    Last Post: 07-02-2019, 10:46 AM
  2. v10.6 is out, with Alexa Integration. How?
    By joshg in forum General Discussion - RA2
    Replies: 52
    Last Post: 12-24-2017, 04:44 PM
  3. Alexa Issue
    By Squill in forum Troubleshooting - CAS
    Replies: 4
    Last Post: 11-25-2017, 04:27 PM
  4. Alexa and RadioRa 2
    By skmadden1 in forum 3rd-party Integration - RA2
    Replies: 10
    Last Post: 07-19-2017, 06:25 PM
  5. How Can Alexa Dim To Preset?
    By petercoolz in forum General Discussion - CAS
    Replies: 2
    Last Post: 05-30-2016, 05:05 PM

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •