Thanks Thanks:  0
Likes Likes:  1
Results 1 to 6 of 6

Thread: Can a dimmer be used as a switch?

  1. #1
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Jul 2015
    Posts
    5

    Can a dimmer be used as a switch?

    Can a dimmer somehow be used at a switch in programming? Set to 100% all the time?

  2. #2
    Authorized Lutron Contributor
    Join Date
    May 2013
    Posts
    418
    Quote Originally Posted by warder View Post
    Can a dimmer somehow be used at a switch in programming? Set to 100% all the time?


    Unfortunately, no. When the dimmer is set to 100%, it is still dimming a little bit to save you some energy.

    The only dimmer that can be turned into a switch is the plug in dimmer, the PD-3PCL. This is done by holding both the On and Off buttons on the dimmer at the same time, for six seconds.

  3. #3
    Quote Originally Posted by Brian W. View Post
    Unfortunately, no. When the dimmer is set to 100%, it is still dimming a little bit to save you some energy.

    The only dimmer that can be turned into a switch is the plug in dimmer, the PD-3PCL. This is done by holding both the On and Off buttons on the dimmer at the same time, for six seconds.
    I agree with Brian W. I actually have a fixture that we had with a old manual sliding dimmer switch, that had a full on position. But when I replaced it with the Caseta dimmer the full on position is not as bright. After checking to make sure the Caseta was on maximum output, I contacted Lutron tech support that told me that their Maximum is still not really max like a switch. In fact it trims about 10%-15% off of maximum. This is for a fixture that uses candelabra bulbs which don't have a higher wattage available. So, since we rarely ever used Dimming anyway, and we certainly noticed that it wasn't so bright, I've order the plain on/off Caseta switch instead. I had already ordered one and installed on our driveway lights and it works fine.

    Write back if you want more info.

  4. #4
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Jan 2016
    Posts
    4

    On/off Cassette switch ? ?

    Quote Originally Posted by msterling View Post
    ... So, since we rarely ever used Dimming anyway, and we certainly noticed that it wasn't so bright, I've order the plain on/off Caseta switch instead. I had already ordered one and installed on our driveway lights and it works fine.

    Write back if you want more info.
    Newbie here.
    I can't seem to find a simple on/Caseta switch.
    Suggestions?
    Thanks.
    Tom

  5. #5
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Jul 2015
    Posts
    22
    Quote Originally Posted by tomwickland View Post
    Newbie here.
    I can't seem to find a simple on/Caseta switch.
    Suggestions?
    Thanks.
    Tom
    Hi Tom! http://www.lutron.com/TechnicalDocum...369831_ENG.pdf

  6. #6
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Jan 2016
    Posts
    4
    Thanks for info. With the help of the forum, I’ve learned a great deal about Caseta in the last few days.

  7. Likes evillalobos liked this post

Similar Threads

  1. Caseta Dimmer Switch - Flickering LED Light
    By OmerNisar in forum Troubleshooting - CAS
    Replies: 8
    Last Post: 04-20-2017, 04:37 PM
  2. Adding a plug-in dimmer on top of a switch
    By Tazplex in forum General Discussion - CAS
    Replies: 4
    Last Post: 01-26-2015, 06:31 PM
  3. Adaptive Dimmer acting like a Switch
    By JSmall in forum Troubleshooting - RA2
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: 11-17-2014, 09:46 AM
  4. 347v switch/dimmer
    By yan@dytronix.com in forum General Discussion - RA2
    Replies: 2
    Last Post: 08-25-2014, 10:08 AM
  5. Best switch or dimmer for motion lights
    By trx250r87 in forum Design Assistance - RA2
    Replies: 2
    Last Post: 04-28-2014, 02:52 PM

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •