Thanks Thanks:  0
Likes Likes:  0
Dislikes Dislikes:  0
Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: Best wiring practices installation for new construction

Best wiring practices installation for new construction

I'm buying a new construction home and I wanted to see the best practices for hard wiring. I want to install Lutron motorized shades. I can't seem to be able to post photos so I'll try my best. I'm would like to tell the builder where to put the electric in 3 main different window area 1) 9x12' Sliding door, two large window, and 4 bay window in the master bedroom. I'm new at this so any help will be appreciated. 1) Sliding Door: My guess is that a receptacle should be placed in the sheet rock just above the sliding door since there is no window sill or Head. I'm thinking of putting a receptacle in the middle of the slider in case i need to use two shades to cover the 12' of the sliding window. And I would then add a switch to the center receptacle. 2) Two Large Windows: I'm think I need one receptacle between the two widows in the sheet rock just above the two widows, and add one switch? Another option would be to put the outlet in the window head if possible. I'm not sure the builder will do that, but that also might be in of the shade frame in the header. 3) Bay window: Since the widows that are separated my four window, I'm assuming I'll need 2 receptacle and one switch. I would put a receptacle in the sheet rock just just above window 1 and 2, and then the 2nd receptecle between window 3 and 4. Any help would be appreciated. If anyone can tell me how to attach photos, they would be easy to see what I'm asking.

Quote Originally Posted by billg13 View Post