Results 1 to 6 of 6

Thread: HW 4 series processor

  1. #1
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Aug 2015
    Posts
    3

    HW 4 series processor

    Hi,

    I have a HW 4 series processor, and I'm trying to extract the program, but every-time I add a processor in the Illumination software it adds a H4P5 and its saying is a processor series 5 so not a series 4 and it gives me an error every-time I want to extract the program.

    Any idea?

    Thank you.

  2. #2
    Super Moderator
    Join Date
    May 2013
    Posts
    395
    Quote Originally Posted by bitza89 View Post
    Hi,

    I have a HW 4 series processor, and I'm trying to extract the program, but every-time I add a processor in the Illumination software it adds a H4P5 and its saying is a processor series 5 so not a series 4 and it gives me an error every-time I want to extract the program.

    Any idea?

    Thank you.
    bitza89,

    If you have an H4 series processor then it will need to use the Interactive software to extract. H4P5 processors are Illumination processors. Please download the HomeWorks Interactive software and try extracting.

  3. #3
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Aug 2015
    Posts
    3
    Hi Kevin,

    Thank you, great info I just installed the interactive and found the processor.
    one more question in regards to the extraction of the program, can it only be extract via RS232?

    Thank you.

  4. #4
    Super Moderator
    Join Date
    May 2013
    Posts
    395
    Quote Originally Posted by bitza89 View Post
    Hi Kevin,

    Thank you, great info I just installed the interactive and found the processor.
    one more question in regards to the extraction of the program, can it only be extract via RS232?

    Thank you.
    bitza89,

    Correct. Interactive processors did not have an Ethernet connection. They only supported RS232. Ethernet connection was not supported on the processors until the Illumination era.

  5. #5
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Aug 2015
    Posts
    3
    Hi Kevin,

    Then thats even more confusing because my one has an RJ 45 connection and I can see it on the network.
    The name one the processor is Home Works 4 Series Processor.

    I will give it a try with the RS232. Thank you.

  6. #6
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    May 2014
    Posts
    13
    Quote Originally Posted by bitza89 View Post
    Hi Kevin,

    Then thats even more confusing because my one has an RJ 45 connection and I can see it on the network.
    The name one the processor is Home Works 4 Series Processor.

    I will give it a try with the RS232. Thank you.
    I guess there is some confusion between the term 4 Series / 8 Series processor which refers to its functional range, and the term series 4 (interactive) / series 5 (illumination) which means the version. Both version 4 and 5 had 4 and 8 series models. If you have a RJ 45 connection it has to be a series 5 version.

    Harry

  7. Likes Kevin P. liked this post

Similar Threads

  1. Two Processor in One System but one processor failure
    By Syncon in forum General Discussion - HWQS
    Replies: 3
    Last Post: 08-01-2015, 10:08 AM
  2. Help plz with HW 4 series
    By techniquesmethodes in forum Troubleshooting - Legacy HW
    Replies: 3
    Last Post: 06-12-2015, 05:29 PM
  3. 4 series processor XML file help
    By dsheppard in forum Troubleshooting - Legacy HW
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: 06-11-2015, 02:45 PM
  4. 4 series question
    By danluke1640 in forum Troubleshooting - Legacy HW
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: 05-27-2015, 04:00 PM

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •