Thanks Thanks:  0
Likes Likes:  0
Results 1 to 4 of 4

Thread: swapping switches, saving programing

  1. #1
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Nov 2019
    Posts
    9

    swapping switches, saving programing

    I have a project where a previous installer utilized dimmers (10nd) that weren't compatible with the led pots that were installed. I used the compatibility tool and it seem that 6NAs are the correct ones for the job. I have to swap in 9 of these, and since I don't know every control trigger from various keypads, I'm hoping there's a way to swap devices and save programming from the old device ( I think I remember seeing someone discussing this in a thread but I searched and can't find it now). I do have the ra2 file for the system, so no problem there.Any suggestions to save a little sanity would be appreciated.Julian C

  2. #2
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Oct 2013
    Posts
    1,659
    Quote Originally Posted by JCEnergy View Post
    I have a project where a previous installer utilized dimmers (10nd) that weren't compatible with the led pots that were installed. I used the compatibility tool and it seem that 6NAs are the correct ones for the job. I have to swap in 9 of these, and since I don't know every control trigger from various keypads, I'm hoping there's a way to swap devices and save programming from the old device ( I think I remember seeing someone discussing this in a thread but I searched and can't find it now). I do have the ra2 file for the system, so no problem there.Any suggestions to save a little sanity would be appreciated.Julian C
    In the software, right-click the device and select edit or double click the device. You can change the type of device. Since you are not changing the address of the device, the programming will follow.
    LED, Incorporated
    Raleigh, NC 27614

  3. #3
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Jun 2013
    Posts
    1,328
    randyc is correct, but you will have to now activate the new 6NA and run a transfer. Changing the device type via editing automatically defaults the dimmer in the software. Pro tip- factory default the 10NDs you are removing when taking them out of the wall. Saves headaches for the less experienced when re-using them in your next project or own home.
    Simple automation when DIY isn't working
    intuitivehomecontrols@gmail.com
    fb.me/intuitivehomecontrols

  4. #4
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Nov 2019
    Posts
    9
    Excellent, thank you guys that is exactly what I was looking for. And excellent point about the factory reset on the 10NDsThanks again Julian

Similar Threads

  1. LED VS Energy saving?
    By smith99 in forum General Discussion - LED
    Replies: 2
    Last Post: 02-27-2020, 08:45 PM
  2. Programing Suggestions
    By cabethesda in forum Programming - HWQS
    Replies: 4
    Last Post: 04-13-2018, 08:16 PM
  3. Swapping out a DVF-103P for a Caseta outlet
    By PJFLA in forum General Discussion - CAS
    Replies: 3
    Last Post: 03-15-2016, 08:21 AM
  4. Disable the daylight saving time in HWQS
    By stevi in forum Programming - HWQS
    Replies: 4
    Last Post: 02-09-2015, 03:24 PM
  5. Daylight Saving Time - Conditional Programming
    By ekimla in forum Programming - HWQS
    Replies: 2
    Last Post: 03-18-2014, 03:35 PM

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •