Thanks Thanks:  0
Likes Likes:  0

Thread: Which Caseta Products for Switched Outlet

Question Which Caseta Products for Switched Outlet

I'm new to this, so hopefully there is simple solution. I have a switched half-hot outlet with 2 bedside lamps attached. Which Caseta products should I use to control these lamps from the switch, iPhone and Alexa?

Quote Originally Posted by RoGan View Post
    I'm new to this, so hopefully there is simple solution. I have a switched half-hot outlet with 2 bedside lamps attached. Which Caseta products should I use to control these lamps from the switch, iPhone and Alexa?
    I'd use the PD-3PCL. The NEC does not allow dimming of general use receptacles. You could use a 6ANS at the switch but I don't think that meets code either and is dangerous because you can have a plug in load with more than 6 amps.

http://www.lutron.com/en-US/Products...omponents.aspx
    Convergence Technologies Raleigh, North Carolina
    www.convergenceusa.com

So 'NEC does not allow dimming of general use receptacles'....means the switch at the wall should not be changed....or do I need to install a Pico In-Wall remote in place of the existing switch to connect with the PD3PCL. You know what I'm thinking.... if someone flips the existing switch it will mess up the PD3PCL function.

Quote Originally Posted by RoGan View Post
    So 'NEC does not allow dimming of general use receptacles'....means the switch at the wall should not be changed....or do I need to install a Pico In-Wall remote in place of the existing switch to connect with the PD3PCL. You know what I'm thinking.... if someone flips the existing switch it will mess up the PD3PCL function.
    You could make the receptacle hot all the time and use a pico with the PD-3PCL. There is a separate mounting kit to mount the pico to a wallbox.