Thanks Thanks:  0
Likes Likes:  0
Results 1 to 4 of 4

Thread: LR-TEMP-FLSH rough-in

  1. #1
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Jan 2015
    Posts
    23

    LR-TEMP-FLSH rough-in

    Whats the best way to rough in for a LR-TEMP-FLSH? I see they want a 1/2" hole in the drywall, however if I have my wire stubbed there is no way the drywaller will make the right size hole and then it'd be (difficult) impossible to drill a 1/2" hole with the wire there. Any suggestions would be appreciated! I've seen them installed in single gangs, but I'd like to make it as invisible as possible.

    Thanks
    Colin

  2. #2
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Oct 2013
    Posts
    1,426
    Quote Originally Posted by weekscolin View Post
    Whats the best way to rough in for a LR-TEMP-FLSH? I see they want a 1/2" hole in the drywall, however if I have my wire stubbed there is no way the drywaller will make the right size hole and then it'd be (difficult) impossible to drill a 1/2" hole with the wire there. Any suggestions would be appreciated! I've seen them installed in single gangs, but I'd like to make it as invisible as possible. Thanks Colin
    Lace the wire in the wall and fish it out after sheetrock. If you wanted to mark the spot you could stub a scrap piece of wire out.
    LED, Incorporated
    Raleigh, NC 27614

  3. #3
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Jan 2015
    Posts
    23
    Quote Originally Posted by randyc View Post
    Lace the wire in the wall and fish it out after sheetrock. If you wanted to mark the spot you could stub a scrap piece of wire out.
    yeah, i'm just concerned with pulling a wire through a 1/2" hole without messing up the drywall a bit (i read the flush mount sensor is a bit temperamental) and with drywallers in our area if there is something stubbed out they tend to cut, eh, various size holes.

  4. #4
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Oct 2013
    Posts
    1,426
    Quote Originally Posted by weekscolin View Post
    yeah, i'm just concerned with pulling a wire through a 1/2" hole without messing up the drywall a bit (i read the flush mount sensor is a bit temperamental) and with drywallers in our area if there is something stubbed out they tend to cut, eh, various size holes.
    1/2" isn't bad for fishing a cat 5. It's even easier if you use a smaller 2-conductor wire. You are probably going to have to touch up around the sensor either way.
    LED, Incorporated
    Raleigh, NC 27614

Similar Threads

  1. Replies: 2
    Last Post: 05-11-2019, 10:49 PM
  2. Can I use a dimmer for temp control ?
    By Kathdo in forum General Discussion - Controls
    Replies: 3
    Last Post: 11-30-2018, 09:24 PM
  3. Using WIRELESS Remote Temp Sensor
    By avtexan in forum General Discussion - RA2
    Replies: 0
    Last Post: 09-30-2018, 08:12 PM
  4. Hardwired temp sensors?
    By AndyM in forum General Discussion - HWQS
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: 04-11-2018, 10:59 AM
  5. LR-TEMP-FLSH resistance?
    By vining in forum General Discussion - HWQS
    Replies: 9
    Last Post: 03-30-2018, 08:50 PM

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •