Thanks Thanks:  0
Likes Likes:  0
Results 1 to 4 of 4

Thread: Aux Repeater

  1. #1

    Aux Repeater

    This client has a guest room 200 feet away from main house... I’m planning to install an auxiliary repeater with a wired connection in an underground pvc conduit, what cable should I use..??

  2. #2
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Jan 2019
    Posts
    146
    I've never actually had this situation before but I recall it requires you to use Lutron keypad wire. It has 2 18AWG wires and 2 22AWG twisted/shielded communication wires.

    Have a look at this for more information: http://www.lutron.com/TechnicalDocum..._nonplenum.pdf

    Hope this helps!
    Evan Kirkhart- Home Electronics Solutions
    evan@homeelectronics.solutions

  3. #3
    I already ordered the GRX-CBL-346S ... my concern is the condensation inside the conduit... installation is in Miami.
    Also got a doubt with connection... if the 18 gauge pair is for power then I don’t need to plug the auxiliary to a power outlet..??

  4. #4
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Oct 2013
    Posts
    1,363
    Yes, you can power the repeater over the RS485 link. Given a choice, I'd plug it in and not use terminal 2 (power).

    I wouldn't worry about the condensation. The individual conductors are insulated then wrapped in a jacket. There are plenty of line voltage cables in underground conduits in Miami. So far the only issue is the occasional hanging chad. Don't nick it when you pull it and it will be fine.
    LED, Incorporated
    Raleigh, NC 27614

Similar Threads

  1. Integrate RA2 Select Main Repeater with a RA2 Main Repeater
    By 3rdiglbl in forum Design Assistance - RA2
    Replies: 4
    Last Post: 08-23-2019, 06:41 PM
  2. Replies: 2
    Last Post: 04-03-2017, 02:11 PM
  3. Replies: 0
    Last Post: 01-16-2017, 06:55 PM

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •