Thanks Thanks:  0
Likes Likes:  0
Results 1 to 4 of 4

Thread: Pair two 6NDs so they mirror each-other?

  1. #1
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Oct 2019
    Posts
    6

    Pair two 6NDs so they mirror each-other?

    Hi,I have a project where there is a hallway with two overhead lights. Each light is controlled separately by two dimmers at each end of the hall. In retrospect, using a hybrid keypad would have been a better (though more expensive) way to design it but I already have two 6NDs installed.Is there a way to "pair" the two dimmers together, so one will follow the other? This would let me turn on both hall lights at the same time. Currently, each one has to be turned on unless I use a keypad in a different room to turn them both on.If no way to pair, any creative ideas for this? I suppose the simplest thing short of swapping in a hybrid keypad would be to add pico remotes ganged at each switch location and have them control both dimmers. I would love to figure out a more elegant solution, though.Thank you!

  2. #2
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Jan 2019
    Posts
    141
    No. This is a feature reserved for HomeWorks. Why, I have no idea. I would recommend a hybrid keypad. You could try the Pico thing but it won’t look or work very well, since you will have to teach everyone to only use the Pico, not the dimmer like they normally do. The non-techie approval factor drops to almost zero when there are special rules (don’t touch this switch, only adjust the volume here, etc.)

    You could move the 6ND to a garage or somewhere that doesn’t have RA2.

    Hope this helps!
    Evan Kirkhart- Home Electronics Solutions
    evan@homeelectronics.solutions

  3. #3
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Jun 2013
    Posts
    1,230
    You could do this in HomeKit if the user is an Apple person and you have the Connect Bridge 2. Can also be done through third party- Control4, RTI, URC, hubitiat, HomeSeer, etc.
    Business Development Associate- Design, Sales, Installation, and Programming of Smart Homes for Baker Electric Home Energy
    mbalay@bakerhomeenergy.com
    "Spread the light, brother" -Blake Richetta
    "If you think hiring a professional is expensive, wait until you hire an amateur" -Crustyloafer

  4. #4
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Oct 2019
    Posts
    6
    Hi all, thank you for the information. I am not too familiar with Homekit, can it run on any ios device (client has an iPhone) or does it require a HomePod? Client does have an Echo at home and does have a connect bridge 2.For my own use, I use Homeseer and like it but am not sure it would be the right choice for this client as he really wants a set and forget type of solution.That said, it seems like Homekit would be a promising solution. Will look into it more. Thank you!

Similar Threads

  1. Pico remote won't pair
    By mjwestwood in forum Troubleshooting - CAS
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: 11-09-2019, 06:49 PM
  2. Caseta In-Wall Switch will only pair with App or Remote, not both.
    By thisisyen in forum Troubleshooting - CAS
    Replies: 2
    Last Post: 08-15-2019, 03:42 PM
  3. question about how to pair
    By bandrews47743@gmail.com in forum Troubleshooting - CAS
    Replies: 2
    Last Post: 11-29-2018, 02:01 PM
  4. Cant pair Dimmer to app with 3 way installation
    By atmegauser in forum Troubleshooting - CAS
    Replies: 5
    Last Post: 01-26-2018, 12:04 PM
  5. Pair 2 picos to one dimmer?
    By hgmobile in forum General Discussion - CAS
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: 10-18-2014, 02:34 PM

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •