Thanks Thanks:  0
Likes Likes:  0
Results 1 to 5 of 5

Thread: 4-way Caseta switch with Mechanical switches only

  1. #1
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Oct 2019
    Posts
    2

    4-way Caseta switch with Mechanical switches only

    I have PD-6ANS switches used in 4-way configurations with PICO remotes. I have maxed out my bridge and still need more devices for other rooms. I would like to replace the two PICO's with mechanical switches, but cannot find wiring diagrams for this configuration. Any help would be appreciated! Would I need the PD-5WS-DV to do this? Seth

  2. #2
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Oct 2013
    Posts
    1,252
    The 6ANS should have a blue wire/terminal that can be used with a single, mechanical, 3-way switch. See link below for instructions. It will not work with any combination of 4-way switches.

    http://www.lutron.com/TechnicalDocum...structions.pdf

    Lutron expanded the system a couple of months ago. If your app is up to date you can have 75 devices/radios per system.
    LED, Incorporated
    Raleigh, NC 27614

  3. #3
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Oct 2019
    Posts
    2
    Is there a different caseta switch that can handle 4-way's with mechanical switches?

  4. #4
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Oct 2013
    Posts
    1,252
    Nothing in the Caseta family. Once you get into RadioRA 2 and RA2 Select you can use companion dimmer/switches in place of the 3-ways/4-ways.
    LED, Incorporated
    Raleigh, NC 27614

  5. #5
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Nov 2019
    Posts
    2

    Awesome

    You could also make it simple by connecting a dimmer / switch to the main wiring on the light, and then using 2 PICOs to complete the 4 way. I do this with my ranch house that has a landing with lighting as soon as I walk in the front door. You go up or down steps to get to living spaces. MyColes The main switch is at the landing, and I have a pico at the top and bottom steps to give me the ability to turn lights on and off at each location.

Similar Threads

  1. Maestro MS-OPS5MH - can I use the old mechanical switches?
    By ralphsab in forum General Discussion - Controls
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: 06-04-2019, 03:45 PM
  2. Replies: 8
    Last Post: 04-23-2019, 12:24 PM
  3. Help with 3 way setup with mechanical and the PD-6ANS switches
    By royster in forum Troubleshooting - CAS
    Replies: 3
    Last Post: 02-07-2019, 06:37 PM
  4. Replies: 1
    Last Post: 07-08-2018, 08:23 PM
  5. Replies: 3
    Last Post: 06-12-2018, 04:55 PM

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •