Thanks Thanks:  0
Likes Likes:  0
Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: New RRD-PRO Dimmer

New RRD-PRO Dimmer

Does anyone know the differences between the new RRD-Pro LED+ dimmer (RA2 Select RF Maestro Phase Selectable Dimmer) vs the RRD-6NA (Phase-adaptive dimmer with neutral wire)?

I’m no expert but the idea of the PRO dimmers (for Maestro non-system, R2S, RR2 and HW) is that the neutral is optional if you are doing forward phase. So, if you’re walking into a retrofit job and you don’t want to find out if there are neutrals in every box, you can spec the PRO and be on your way. It also helps to be able to install one dimmer for everything, helps for stocking replacement parts etc. Don’t know anything more specific as of yet.

The 6NA is phase-adaptive, meaning it will try to determine the best type of control - forward phase or reverse phase. I find it guesses wrong a lot so I usually force it into the phase I want.

The PRO is phase-selectable, meaning you have to program it for either forward or reverse phase. It also has a higher wattage rating for LED (250w vs 150w). It supports additional load types - Hi-lume 2-wire and dimmable fluorescent. It also allows you to mix LED, CFL, and incandescent (like C.L dimmers).

FWIW, if the device has a neutral connection, use it.
    Convergence Technologies Raleigh, North Carolina
    www.convergenceusa.com

Programing

Quote Originally Posted by cbfs1 View Post
    Does anyone know the differences between the new RRD-Pro LED+ dimmer (RA2 Select RF Maestro Phase Selectable Dimmer) vs the RRD-6NA (Phase-adaptive dimmer with neutral wire)?
    FYI there is a new 12.2 version of the software out that includes support for this new dimmer.. So in the design phase I guess there will the an additional selection for this new dimmer. I have not downloaded it yet;).