Thanks Thanks:  0
Likes Likes:  0
Dislikes Dislikes:  0
Results 1 to 3 of 3

Thread: Maestro Occupancy Sensors not communicating

  1. #1
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Aug 2019
    Posts
    1

    Maestro Occupancy Sensors not communicating

    Homeowner/novice here, I'm having an issue with two Maestro Occupancy Sensor switches not communicating with one another. I'm re-doing the lighting in the stairway of my 2-story house. Initially I installed an occupancy sensor switch at the top of the stairs and 3-way wired it with a standard light switch at the bottom. Unfortunately, the sensor at the top wasn't able to pick up movement until someone was almost all the way up the stairs. So I swapped out the bottom 3-way switch with a second occupancy sensor switch. Both are wired as instructed in the insert, with black-black, black-black, red-blue, and ground-green/bare. I must be doing something wrong however, because as you go up the stairs, the sensor at the bottom never turns the lights on but the top sensor seems to work just fine. I've noticed by chance, that when the top sensor finally does catch movement and turns the lights on, the bottom (defunct) sensor blinks 3 times.The staircase is wired with power coming in at the top switch, a 3-wire running to the bottom switch, and 2-wire running up to the lights. This baffles me because the power is able to move through the switch in question and up to the lights but the sensor doesn't work. What is going on?! Any help or advice here would be a greatly appreciated.

  2. #2
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Oct 2013
    Posts
    1,273
    You can't have 2 sensors on the same circuit. I've heard that other manufacturers have a system that does, but Lutron does not. The Lutron solution is to use a RPS sensor (remote, battery powered) and pair it with RA2 or Maestro Wireless devices.
    LED, Incorporated
    Raleigh, NC 27614

  3. #3
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Jan 2019
    Posts
    142
    Randy is right- but you could also use Caseta dimmers/switches as long as they aren't associated with a Smart Bridge. Caseta devices are much cheaper.
    Evan Kirkhart- Home Electronics Solutions
    evan@homeelectronics.solutions

Similar Threads

  1. Maestro Occupancy Sensor
    By Captain Dad in forum General Discussion - Controls
    Replies: 9
    Last Post: 05-03-2019, 10:01 PM
  2. Disabling Occupancy Sensor on Maestro C.L Dimmer
    By Mukund in forum Troubleshooting - Controls
    Replies: 3
    Last Post: 01-05-2018, 03:45 PM
  3. Disabling Occupancy Sensor on Maestro® C•L® Dimmer
    By Mukund in forum General Discussion - Controls
    Replies: 0
    Last Post: 09-01-2016, 01:37 PM
  4. maestro occupancy sensor
    By Christiann in forum General Discussion - Controls
    Replies: 0
    Last Post: 07-05-2014, 05:14 PM

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •