Thanks Thanks:  0
Likes Likes:  0
Results 1 to 3 of 3

Thread: 3way wiring help

  1. #1
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Aug 2019
    Posts
    3

    3way wiring help

    Ok so i'm following this install:

    https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=hvjub64St3Q

    I have two switches upstairs for a light upstairs and downstairs,
    and 2(well 4 switches downstairs)

    I went upstairs, killed the breaker, pulled the wall plate, and wired switch 1 to pigtails, and switch 2 to pigtails.
    Turned on power, lights are on. Good.
    Tested downstairs switches.
    Lights are still on.

    Not sure what to do next.

    I would include colored diagrams, but house is old and wires are cloth insulated so that doesn't really tell you anything.

    switch 1 had 3 wires, two to black screws and 1 to a brass screw.
    same on switch 2

    Help?

    unless i'm confused and installing the smart switch makes it work correctly?

    looking at this
    https://www.hunker.com/13414121/how-...witch-to-2-way

    it sounds like i'm conceptually thinking of the expected behavior wrong?

  2. #2
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Oct 2013
    Posts
    1,103
    So... the first video is so bad I could not watch it. Lutron really, really needs to update that. The article you linked was written by a pediatrician.

    It would be helpful to know which Caseta devices you are using. Some Caseta dimmers work with (1) mechanical 3-way switch. Some require replacing one of the 3-way switches with a Pico remote. If your light is switched from more than 2 locations, you must use Pico remotes in the other locations. I have included the link to "Caseta Advanced Instructions" which may help.

    http://www.lutron.com/TechnicalDocum...structions.pdf
    LED, Incorporated
    Raleigh, NC 27614

  3. #3
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Aug 2019
    Posts
    3
    Quote Originally Posted by randyc View Post
    So... the first video is so bad I could not watch it. Lutron really, really needs to update that. The article you linked was written by a pediatrician.

    It would be helpful to know which Caseta devices you are using. Some Caseta dimmers work with (1) mechanical 3-way switch. Some require replacing one of the 3-way switches with a Pico remote. If your light is switched from more than 2 locations, you must use Pico remotes in the other locations. I have included the link to "Caseta Advanced Instructions" which may help.

    www.lutron.com/TechnicalDocumentLibrary/0301710a_Caseta%20Advanced%20Instructions.pdf
    Wish i had read this sooner. I read the comments in the lutron video and someone mentioned having to cap off the common. I went back and tried that and it worked.

    So i had two 3 way switches and two lights.
    I figured given the stuff at home depot a mechanical casseta dimmer and a pico would work for each light.
    However!

    I found that for one light i had to cap off the common and for the other i had to cap the travelers and the common. So who knows wtf is going on in my house.

    everything working now except I had to go back and get dimmable lights cause the lights in there were not good ugh.

Similar Threads

  1. 3way switch thats not?
    By louhopsbednar in forum General Discussion - Controls
    Replies: 6
    Last Post: 11-29-2018, 04:28 PM
  2. 3way illunated dimmer switch
    By CassP in forum General Discussion - Controls
    Replies: 2
    Last Post: 12-04-2017, 10:42 AM
  3. 3way dimer
    By jogechacon in forum Troubleshooting - Controls
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: 09-27-2016, 08:59 PM
  4. Pd-6wcl 3way
    By Neilalp in forum Troubleshooting - CAS
    Replies: 3
    Last Post: 11-22-2015, 01:17 PM
  5. 3way 4way 3way dimming leds
    By greenjourneyman in forum General Discussion - LED
    Replies: 2
    Last Post: 11-07-2013, 05:10 PM

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •