Thanks Thanks:  0
Likes Likes:  0
Results 1 to 9 of 9

Thread: 6NA dimmer apparently fried by a bad power outage

  1. #1
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Jan 2015
    Posts
    3

    6NA dimmer apparently fried by a bad power outage

    I have a good sized Radio Ra2 system with a 6NA dimmer in my own home system that won't respond after a bad power outage. It's the only one out of 100 devices that was affected. When the power came back on it fluctuated quite a bit before it came on steady. I later discovered that this dimmer was on when it was not on prior to the outage. Now I cannot turn it off without pulling out the FASS disconnect switch. When I press the tapswitch button or the dimming rocker, the bottom 3 status led lights come on as long as I hold the button or rocker. I have been unable to perform a factory reset, nor can Essentials talk to it either. I've also tried removing the hot wire from the dimmer and reconnecting. Nada. Zip. Zilch. My assumption is that it is toast.

    I don't suppose anybody has anything else that I might try to get this dimmer working again? I presume not, but let me know if otherwise. My real question is: what are other guys out there doing (or Lutron recommending) to try and protect customers systems from power outages? I live out in a rural area and this seems to happen with increasing regularity and it has me concerned for my own system and those of my customers.

  2. #2
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Dec 2014
    Posts
    252
    Do you have a whole house surge protector installed in the main electrical panel?

  3. #3
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Jan 2015
    Posts
    3
    Yes. It's a Seimens surge arrester installed in the main panel.

  4. #4
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Jun 2013
    Posts
    745
    That dimmer is done. You are describing what I lovingly refer as the "three LED's of death". That dimmer would be under warranty. What load are you running on the dimmer? I saw that most with a particular brand (Sebco) of MLV drivers for LED. Sebco makes a good driver, I just use the RRD-10ND-xx when I see it.
    Business Development Associate for Baker Electric Solar

    mbalay@bakerelectricsolar.com

  5. #5
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Sep 2013
    Posts
    425
    Ah ha. I have had a similar experience for a couple of years (now probably out of warranty). The 6D powers two 60W incandescents and is controlled by a Lutron occupancy sensor. In my case I get the 3-LED issue and then after pulling the FASS, it seems to work properly for quite a few months before reverting to this problem. Can I do something about this?

  6. #6
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Jun 2013
    Posts
    745
    schalliol- try calling customer service. Occasionally Lutron has been known to take care of issues like this even though they are technically out of warranty. It doesn't hurt to ask. I've never encountered the three LED's of death on anything but the 6NA. Check that somehting isn't accidentally back-fed onto the switch leg. The three LEDs is a over-voltage/over-amperage signal in most cases. Dimmer locks "on" at around 65-80% as a safety feature, never left in the dark when the dimmer fails.
    Business Development Associate for Baker Electric Solar

    mbalay@bakerelectricsolar.com

  7. #7
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Sep 2013
    Posts
    425
    Ahh. I thought I put a 6D into that single pole box, but apparently I put in a new 6NA a few months ago. Right you were about the three lights. I'll contact Lutron. Thanks!

  8. #8
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Sep 2013
    Posts
    425
    Tech support says this indicates the 6NA incorrectly picked the wrong phase. I haven't done it yet, but I was told to set the unit to forward phase manually, and that should fix it. These are dimmable CFLs in a work room in my case (they're the only CFLs in the house with everything else as LCDs).

  9. #9
    From my experience its best to not have the 6NA on "Auto" this may just be me but I think we get some less than consistent performance from the 6NA when left on "Auto" phase detect. If applicable I recommend the 10ND where it fits as well the load....

Similar Threads

  1. Adding A Power Panel
    By jkvossen in forum General Discussion - HWQS
    Replies: 2
    Last Post: 07-15-2015, 11:40 AM
  2. LED on wallbox power module
    By MitchE in forum Design Assistance - RA2
    Replies: 5
    Last Post: 10-24-2014, 01:44 AM
  3. LQSE 4A-D Power LED flashing
    By MarcusViberg in forum Troubleshooting - HWQS
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: 09-08-2014, 10:11 AM
  4. Power outage notification via radio ra2
    By Mapeselec in forum 3rd-party Integration - RA2
    Replies: 2
    Last Post: 05-25-2014, 06:53 PM
  5. DIN Rail Power Modules
    By BradKas in forum General Discussion - HWQS
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: 04-14-2014, 03:14 PM

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •