Results 1 to 4 of 4

Thread: Question Concerning RF Repeaters and P5 Systems

  1. #1

    Question Question Concerning RF Repeaters and P5 Systems

    if there are multiple RF repeaters defined in a project and a device (dimmer) is in range to more than one repeater, how does the processor/device "decide" on which repeater to "bind" to?

    I'm assuming that once a device is "bound" to a repeater, it continues to only communicate to the processor via that one repeater, correct?

    In a multiple repeater system, does the "slot" in which the device is placed (addressing) have any bearing on what repeater is used (is the slot location part of the "choice" on how a repeater is "assigned" to a device? The motivation for this question is that I have a system with multiple repeaters and we moved some devices around (different "slots" on the addressing screen) and now they will not communicate; moving them back and they work fine; it almost appears that the "slot" is part of how a repeater is "chosen".

    thanks

  2. #2
    Super Moderator
    Join Date
    May 2013
    Posts
    395
    Quote Originally Posted by jkvossen View Post
    if there are multiple RF repeaters defined in a project and a device (dimmer) is in range to more than one repeater, how does the processor/device "decide" on which repeater to "bind" to?

    I'm assuming that once a device is "bound" to a repeater, it continues to only communicate to the processor via that one repeater, correct?

    In a multiple repeater system, does the "slot" in which the device is placed (addressing) have any bearing on what repeater is used (is the slot location part of the "choice" on how a repeater is "assigned" to a device? The motivation for this question is that I have a system with multiple repeaters and we moved some devices around (different "slots" on the addressing screen) and now they will not communicate; moving them back and they work fine; it almost appears that the "slot" is part of how a repeater is "chosen".

    thanks
    jkvossen,

    The slot does not matter with the RF repeaters. The devices will respond to any repeater that is closest.

    The first repeater should be wired to the processor. The repeaters after the first can be wired or wireless. If moving repeaters around, was the range changed between repeaters? You want to ensure the range is not stretched too much that causes communication issues between repeaters.

  3. #3
    Quote Originally Posted by Kevin P. View Post
    jkvossen,

    The slot does not matter with the RF repeaters. The devices will respond to any repeater that is closest.

    The first repeater should be wired to the processor. The repeaters after the first can be wired or wireless. If moving repeaters around, was the range changed between repeaters? You want to ensure the range is not stretched too much that causes communication issues between repeaters.
    not sure I buy that; I tried this experiment:

    - system works fine

    - did not physically move anything (devices or repeater)

    - swapped the slots (addresses) of two devices; devices would not communicate with the system

    - put the devices back to their original slots (addresses) and the devices communicate fine

    since nothing physically moved, just the logical (address) of the device, I'm assuming that the slot/address does play a role

    next time I am at the residence I plan on doing the same experiment but set both devices to factory defaults and run SAM

    thanks

  4. #4
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    May 2014
    Posts
    13
    Hi.

    There are three groups of wireless table top keypads. Fixed position, roaming and configurable. I guess that all other RF devices are fixed position devices (look at the advanced property 'Mobility' of the device). That could explain your Experiment.

    Harry

Similar Threads

  1. Two Main Repeaters and Device Separation
    By Armando B. in forum Best Practices - RA2
    Replies: 6
    Last Post: 01-23-2016, 01:06 AM
  2. Cable to Wire Repeaters
    By Armando B. in forum Design Assistance - RA2
    Replies: 8
    Last Post: 02-11-2015, 12:46 PM
  3. Maximum number of Aux repeaters in a 2 MAIN-REP arrangement
    By jfine in forum Design Assistance - RA2
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: 12-03-2014, 01:59 PM
  4. Two RA2 systems on same network?
    By PCH2OMAN in forum Design Assistance - RA2
    Replies: 7
    Last Post: 10-14-2014, 10:13 AM
  5. Wiring Hybrid Repeaters
    By Armando B. in forum Design Assistance - HWQS
    Replies: 0
    Last Post: 04-18-2014, 04:46 PM

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •